Evening!

Thank you again, for all the warm comments on my last post.

Seriously, you read all that?  If I had gold star stickers to pass out, each and every one of you would receive one.

Right now, I’m sitting on the couch, and my tummy is full of delicious food to the point where my work pants are a wee bit uncomfortable.

It feels pretty nice.

Oh, before I go any further, before I forget: my conscience has been nagging me.  More and more of you have been commenting on frozen Larabars, and have been giving me credit for the genius of that.  I gotta give credit where it’s due, though.  I first spotted this stroke of culinary awesomeness on Chelsey’s blog, and being the frozen-food fanatic, immediately followed suit.  So, if you’ve frozen your Larabars since seeing it here, go pop on over to Chelsey’s blog and love on her a bit for making life a bit better for us foodies.

Rock on.

I have no dinner pictures for you today (Amor surprised me by spontaneously taking me out to dinner tonight after work, and I didn’t have my camera with me), but I have “everything else” photos.  How’s that?  Works for you?

Works for me just nicely.

Breakfast was something that had me “mmming” all the way through it.

Remember that Nogurt sent me those samples to try?

I seriously could not sleep last night, because I was thinking of all the different ways I wanted to attack the blueberry flavor.

I love how the umlaut makes a smiley face.

I seriously lay in the dark for nearly an hour (too much coffee yesterday, evidently) pondering how I was going to properly utilize my exciting new breakfast treat.

I debated on drizzling it atop a bowl of porridge, but decided against that.  I didn’t want the flavor to get lost or anything.

Super short ingredient list -- yay!

Finally, I settled on a version of how I enjoyed it yesterday.

I woke up, brewed myself a pot of coffee (clearly, I do not learn from my mistakes: insomnia, here I come!) and set to work.

I wanted to complement the blueberry-banana flavor, so I threw together a quick cinnamon-vanilla blueberry muffin (3 tbs peanut flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 cup applesauce, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 whole egg, and a heaping fistful of blueberries and a splash of vanilla, nuked for about 2 minutes).

Certified GF -- Nogurt is practically allergy free!

I crumbled my muffin into a bowl, and by crumbled, I mean, I stabbed the heck out of it when I took it out of the microwave, then threw its remains into a bowl.

I’m morbid.  Blame the Dexter commercial that was just on, okay?

Since I wanted to stick with the banana-blueberry theme, I microwaved some frozen blueberries to make a sauce, then sliced a banana and piled them onto the muffin.

I really enjoy how this company caters to all sorts of health concerns.

Then it was time to open the Nogurt.

Since you’re gonna ask, I’ll tell you.

I liked it.  Much like the chocolate, it was a mild and sweet flavor, with emphasis on the blueberry and a slight hint of banana in the background.  It wasn’t tart, either, which might be a good thing for those of you who are put off by too-tart conventional yogurts.

Smooth, almost liquid consistency.

It wasn’t thick, either, but I was ready for that, since yesterday’s flavor was liquid-y as well.

I actually was looking forward to having my muffin soak up all the blueberry flavor, after a couple bites to get a good idea of the flavor profile, went ahead and drizzled it over my muffin and fruit.

I garnished the bowl with a heaping tablespoon of almond butter (made into a sauce with almond milk, and nuked) and several handfuls of sliced almonds.

MIMs are so versatile!

Verdict?

Loved it.

Seriously, I’m not just making that up.  I haven’t seen Nogurt on the shelves yet, but if I spotted it, and the price was right, I definitely pick up a few to have around on those days that I want a change of pace from the usual.

Muffin topped with blueberries, banana, and Nogurt.

So, here’s the breakdown.

I enjoyed Nogurt for a variety of reasons, but the ones that really stood out to me was that it’s not too sweet.  I’m still on the prowl for a tart soy/dairy/gluten-free yogurt, but other than that, I loved the taste and the level of sweetness.

I also enjoyed how it had a short ingredient list of real food, and didn’t have any weird gums or stabilizers.  That’s extremely important to people like me with sensitive tummies.  I’d choose a kefir-esque yogurt alternative any day over a thick one that would kill my stomach.

Loved how the MIM soaked up the almond butter and Nogurt! Yay for tasty sponges!

This product is, like I said, virtually common-allergen free.  If you have other common allergies keeping you from trying new things, give Nogurt a look-see.

It’s also low sodium, which was also awesome, since I and many others fight an endless battle with edema.  It’s vegan, certified organic, and also has a hearty boost of probiotics.

Oh, and it has DHA!  That’s awesome!  I was anxious at first, and googled the brand of Omega’s that they use in their Nogurt and was delighted to see that it was a completely vegan and flax-free source.  You won’t be poisoned by unwanted phytoestrogens with Nogurt!

Hurrah!

The cons?  Not as many, but a couple.  Not everyone likes the taste of bananas, but I seriously love bananas, so the underlying banana taste wasn’t off-putting to me.  The other thing is, if you’re expecting something to be thick like yogurt, you might be a bit bummed.  However, remember that there are no funky stabilizers in Nogurt, and bring a straw.  And, yeah, I crave the tart — that’s why I miss yogurt.

But, as a yummy, ethical, lightly sweetened pudding-flavored kefir with a healthy dose of probiotics and DHA, I was very happy with Nogurt and would definitely buy it.  I’m not sure how much it’ll sell for, but if I see it in stores, I’ll keep you guys updated.

Another obsession of mine: hummus and hot sauce.

And that was breakfast!

Lunch was consumed a few hours later, in literally maybe five minutes.

I have a bad habit of spending too long getting dressed in the morning before work, leaving myself standing in the kitchen twenty minutes before I need to leave and unsure of what I’m going to have.

I threw this together in five minutes, and spent the next ten shoveling it into my mouth.

It contained the last of my green beans, tons of broccoli, a cup of peas, a mushroom (chopped), a half a cup of chickpeas, and two or so servings of hummus and a ton of hot sauce.

Eaten throughout the afternoon.

Work was insane today.

It’s so weird, how work is either totally slow and completely dead, or it’s ridiculously frantic and I have no time to breathe.

I threw a plum, this Boomi bar, and a few handfuls of dry cereal into my purse to eat at work, and had to break off nibbles of the bar to sneak into my mouth between patients because it was so busy today.  It took me nearly two hours to eat it.

Huge plum -- almost the size of my fist.

I was lucky to snag a couple minutes to nosh down this plum, too.

Amor, as I said, took me to dinner after work, but as soon as I got home, I had a mad craving for grapes.

I indulged said craving happily.

Sorry for the awful photo. Night comes early nowadays.

And, in true dessert fashion, stuffed a couple dates with peanut butter, then stuck wedges of chocolate into them.

I threw them into the microwave on 70% power for about 25 seconds, then let them cool for a minute then happily devoured.

Another date and a few more pieces of chocolate slipped into my mouth after the camera was turned off for the night.

Just melted enough that it oozes when you bite into it.

I just found out that I’m working tomorrow (I thought I had the morning off), which is fine.

Extra hours never hurt anyone, and besides, my boss is awesome and I love my job.

Tomorrow is Amor’s Fantasty Football picks get-together, which should prove entertaining.  However, I’ll be scrubbing the house from top to bottom (he’s helping, of course!) to make the house presentable for his friends, so I most likely will be away most of the day.

Does anyone you know go crazy over football or any other sport?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

