And, further proof that I just make up titles as I go: yes, rice cakes do make better breakfasts.

Good morning!

I love Saturday mornings.  I always have — something about it simply exudes “me time” and despite having to get ready for work in a few minutes, I feel no great rush or urgency.

Saturdays are awesome.

My breakfast, too, was awesome.

Chocolate cake, peanut butter, and banana. Yes, I love breakfast.

I did not want hot cereal this morning.

I feel like perhaps I’m getting in a food rut with my kasha.  Now that I’m working again, sometimes I don’t have time to think.  I just sorta have to go on autopilot and get my meal started so I can start getting ready for work and/or school.

(School starts on the 30th — yikes!  I’m feeling nervous, to say the least.  It’s my first semester as a full time student AND working part time.)

Delicious crumbles of chocolate cake to soak up the almond milk.

Fortunately, I planned ahead and made myself an extra MIM last night.

I know.  I planned ahead with a MIM.  Who does stuff like that?

“Oh!  It takes an entire minute to make!  I better make it the night before!”

Yep.

Chilly-good almond milk rounded out this perfect meal.

Neveryoumind, I threw it in the microwave this morning for about fifteen seconds to take the chill off it, so my planning-ahead efforts only bought me thirty seconds, max.

Omigosh, guys, it was Seriously. So. Good.

I smeared three brown rice cakes with a liberal slathering of peanut butter, and layered them in my cereal bowl.  Between each layer were banana slices.

Make this! Now. Do it. You won't regret it.

Then I dropped warm crumbles of chocolate cake onto it.

When the warm cake hit the peanut butter, the peanut butter melted ever-so slightly, transferring its yummy goodness onto the chocolate cake.

There’s something about eating chocolate, peanut butter, and bananas first thing in the a.m. that makes everything just seem right with the world.

Plus, the almond milk turned everything into mush, which made each spoonful a homogeneous conglomeration of peanut butter, chocolate, and banana mush with both hot and cold textures.

I love breakfast.  I love eating.  Food is awesome.

Do you prefer hot cereal or cold cereal in the morning?  Or are you not a cereal person at all? I’m a hot cereal kinda gal, but something about cold cereal on a Saturday morning makes me feel like a kid again.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

