Evening!

I hope everyone’s enjoyed their Friday.  Mine actually went pretty well.

So, today’s workday made up for the last two I had to work.  It was sloooooow.  I had time to pretty much scrub the office from top to bottom, lest I die of boredom.

Lunch was so delicious, and I actually sort of owe this one to my sister.

I had to whip up something in a hurry, so while some instant brown rice cooked away on the stovetop, I pureed a hunk of onion, half an avocado, and about a serving of spinch (I packed it in there tight) into my food processor.

Looks can be deceiving. This meal was amazing.

I actually don’t like spinach that much.

I used to eat it daily, then burnt out on it, but I keep buying it because it’s “good for you.”

So, I have to hide it: in smoothies, and now in this makeshift guacamole.

All mixed together in an amorphous green blob.

Since I knew I needed to stay full through work, I cooked about 1.5 servings of brown rice.

I topped it with a cup of frozen peas and a half a cup of chickpeas.

Finally, I piled on my sister’s recipe of makeshift guacamole.

Oh, dude.  This stuff was yum.

Unfortunately, I had less than ten minutes to enjoy it, so most of the amazing flavor was lost on me as I was shoveling it down my throat.

Dessert was two unpictured dates smeared with peanut butter as I dashed out the door.

Pardon the flash -- my battery was dying.

At work, I nibbled on some chocolate that this super sweet girl that I work with left for me for my birthday.

I didn’t even tell her it was my birthday, but she bought me a present anyway.  I’m lucky to work with such a sweet girl!

As I said earlier, work was slower than molasses on Christmas today.

Since I didn’t really want to cook, and Amor was happy to pick up a cooked chicken at the grocery store, I snagged a bit of produce at the grocer for a quick dinner tonight.

Somebody explain this to me: why am I obsessed with zucchini?  I don’t even really like it, but I keep wanting more.  I ran out the other day, so I picked up a new one for dinner tonight.  I guess there’s something in it that my body needs, because I keep coming back for more.

In my bowl was another cup of peas (seriously, one of my favorite things to eat, ever), a ton of broccoli (like, two or more cups, no idea), an entire zucchini, a half cup of chickpeas, a double serving of hummus, and a new food to me: purple potato.

Yum.

Chocolate microwave cake with peanut butter and chocolate frosting.

I had an insta-cake for dessert.

I combined about two tablespoons each of cocoa powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking soda, half a large banana, a large egg, and a handful of meltaways into a large mug, then separated them into two ramekins.  (The other one is going to be used maybe in my breakfast tomorrow?)

After about 45 seconds in the micro, the cake was ready.  I topped it with a heaping tablespoon or two each of peanut butter and chocolate frosting (from a can).

Organic grapes in a watermelon.

Since I haven’t had much fruit today, I went with both of my fruit cravings and crammed a ton of organic red grapes into half a large personal watermelon.

The mellow sweetness of the melon complemented the tartness of the grapes.

Now I’m full, and content, and ready to settle in for a leisurely night of catching up on my blogs.

Do you ever randomly crave foods and not know why? Seriously?  Zucchini?  And I don’t even really care for it?  Dear body: you are weird.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

