Good morning!

How’s your Monday treating you so far?

Mine’s off to a pretty decent start, I think.  I slept until about a quarter ’til ten, which is always a good way to wake, in my book.

Since I’ve gotten sick, Amor has taken to letting me sleep in as late as possible.  Even though I never asked for those extra twenty minutes of sleep, he knows how valuable rest is, and wordlessly shifted into a later wake-up for me. ❤

Peanut-buttery kasha.

I woke up hungry, and since I’m out of almond milk, I decided to try to flavor my porridge with some peanut flour.

I cooked 1/4 cup of kasha on the stovetop with one cup of water, cinnamon, and vanilla.

Ten minutes of simmering later, I stirred in about 1/3 cup of high-fat peanut flour (the higher fat content, the stronger the peanut taste — 1/4 cup has about 120 calories and 9g of protein, but tastes so much better than the bland lower fat content flour).

You can't go wrong with bananas, like, ever.

When I removed it from the heat, I topped it with a packed heaping teaspoon of brown sugar.

I love melty brown sugar…little puddles and pockets of pure syrup, straight to the mouth.  Never fails me.

I sliced a whole banana on top of it, then added just less than two tablespoons of peanut butter to the top.

I love the little melted puddles of brown sugar. Yum!

Unfortunately, despite adding the sprinkling of sugar on the top to draw out the peanut flavor, it got lost in the smokiness of the kasha.

Maybe if I use a blander porridge, like quinoa, the taste might shine through better?  Or perhaps if I used less water, or maybe a pinch of salt?

It’s worth experimenting with, especially since this breakfast was so dang filling.

Delicious flavors!

I’m not sure what I’m going to do today.

I’m feeling sorta restless today.  Being cooped up in the house tends to make a Kaz a bit stir-crazy.

Hmm.  If I’m so stir-crazy, maybe I just should make a risotto?

Weak attempt at humor, do forgive me!  (Admit it, you love it.)

What does your week hold in store for you?  What are your plans?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

