Good afternoon!

I feel remarkably okay today, which is like, big.  I haven’t felt okay in ages.

I was so convinced that I would be in a bad mood today because of the stomach pain I had last night, but somehow I managed to wake up on the right side of the bed.

Sleeping for almost ten and a half hours last night didn’t hurt, either.  Yes, despite my two hour nap yesterday, as soon as my head hit the pillow last night, I was out.

Amor woke me up at noon, and I’ve been sipping my tea and feeling reasonably decent all morning.

All the warm and kind words from you guys probably didn’t hurt, either!  Thank you, each and every one of you, for your input on my “Thoughts” post.  I went ahead and replied to all of you directly on your comment, since each and every one of you had something to offer that I am completely grateful for.

A huge bowl of slivered almonds? What?

It’s slowly started to dawn on me that I’m getting much better at this “intuitive eating” business.

It’s still a journey, and I still have trouble stopping myself at night and listening to my tummy signals (as my bedtime tummy ache last night is a strong indicator), but my daytime eating?

Not too shabby.

For instance, this morning, I was craving both blueberries and bananas.  I had a strong hanerkin’ for the blues, but the bananas didn’t look too terribly unappealing, either.

Ah, I see. A bowl of almonds and some berry compote?

I went ahead and made it another two-banana morning, and threw in a cup and a half or so of frozen blueberries for good measure.

I tossed an entire banana in with my kasha, since I was out of almond milk.  I seasoned it with some vanilla and cinnamon, as well.

For my blueberry craving, I nuked something like a cup and a half or two cups (didn’t measure) of blueberries in bowl with another banana, then nuked it for two minutes.

Nope, there's porridge underneath all that! Sneaky sneaky!

I mashed it into a delicious sweet-tart compote, then dumped it onto my banana kasha.

I topped it with about a quarter cup-ish of slivered almonds.

Then I ate all the compote and almonds, and ate about 3/4 of my kasha and called it quits.

In other words, I eat like a child: I pick off the yummy stuff, then let the rest go to waste.  Who cares if it’s “healthy” or “I need it”, which was my old go-to excuse for finishing off my breakfast.  Oh, it’s full of protein!  I need every last bite!

Nope.  Don’t wanna.

I think that learning to throw away food is the biggest step somebody can take in learning how to eat intuitively.  Yes, I might get hungry soon, even though I just ate two hours ago.  No big deal.  I can just forage up something else yummy, and eat it until I run out of ketchup or grow bored of it, then throw the rest away.

It’s okay to throw food away.  Really!  And if that’s not cool with you?  Then cover it, put it in the fridge, and eat it later.  Leftovers are yummy, too.

Being sick, actually, has helped teach me that.  I couldn’t finish anything this past week due to awful stomach pains, and since I was sick, nobody else wanted to finish it, so into the rubbish it went.

See?  I’m the eternal optimist.  I can even find the good in food poisoning.  Hah!

Anyway, I’m rambling, which is oddly enough, a good sign.  I babble like a baby when I’m happy, so here’s to me being back to my old self soon!

Are you an intuitive eater?  Has intuitive eating ever been a struggle for you?  Do you have any insight or tips to help others who are learning how to eat? Sorry, so many questions for you today!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

