Good evening!

I did have to work today, after all, but I’m actually glad for the opportunity to get out of the house.  I was going a bit stir-crazy these past few days.

Lunch was eaten in maybe ten seconds flat, and consisted of one of the most delicious sandwiches ever.

Hummus, romaine, and avocado sandwich on Udi's GF bread.

It’s a shame that I had to inhale this, because it was absolutely delicious.

I smooshed about a third of an avocado onto one slice of the bread, slapped some romaine between it, smeared a couple tablespoons of hummus on the other slice.

One of the best flavor combinations, ever.

Mmm, delicious and surprisingly filling!

In the car on the way to work, I snacked on some salt and vinegar chips.

I’ve mentioned them before on this blog.

I like them, but they’re severely lacking in the vinegar tang.  Other than that, they’re all right.

Tasty, but not tangy.

A few hours at work and I started to get hungry, so I pulled out a baggie of grapes.

I was able to choke down a little less than a dozen of them before it was too much.

I had sour grapes.

No, I’m not bitter — they were sour.  Underripe?  No idea.

More sour than trying to eat a lemon.

Instead, I satisfied my hunger with a Boomi bar that I had thrown into my purse just in case.

I was tired after work, and convinced Amor to take me out to dinner.

Unfortunately, with my food issues, there’s not many places to go, so we wound up going to a buffet.

I navigated it rather well: I enjoyed a salad heaped with spring mix, peas, craisins, cranberry sauce, and potato salad.  I also had a few bites of some green beans, a couple fries, a small serving of mashed potatoes, and picked the frosting off one slice of cake and the custard out of a slice of coconut cream pie and lemon meringue pie.  I also had a few sips of the fella’s Icee.

Held me over well until dinner.

When I got home, we settled in to watch Logan’s Run.  Have you seen it?  Trippy.

I was hungry mid-movie, and foraged up a rice cake and a coconut milk ice cream cone.

Then I spent the evening trying to train Oso to jump through a hula hoop.

(Oh: I’m getting better at hooping!  I kept the hoop up through two five minute songs and one six minute before calling it quits.  Yay, go me!)

At first, he tried to crawl under it.  Then he tried to nudge it aside.  Then he stepped over it.  Finally, I got him to hop through it, but it took literally dozens of kibble before he reached that point of mastery.  By then, he was full and bored, so his lessons shall resume tomorrow.

Do you ever go to buffets?  How do you navigate them?  Or, if you don’t do buffets, what’s your approach to pot-lucks, barbecues, or whatever gathering that features food? My modus operandi is to start with a salad, get a small plate of whatever looks good, enjoy a bit of fruit, then sample a couple of desserts that look the best.  Paying attention to my hunger cues is vital, though, because it’s so easy to overeat at buffets.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

