Good afternoon!

Breakfast did not hold me over, unfortunately, so I did have to snack.

Then lunch brought big hunger with it, which needed remedied with some carbs, protein, and fat — stat!  (Whoo!  I rhyme!)

Explosion of happiness in my mouth.

Lunches like today’s are exactly why I’m a food blogger.

It was so good, I have to tell everyone about it.

It was a simple variation on last night’s dinner because yep, I thought that last night’s dinner was that good, too.

Who needs boring salads with icky dressings anyhow?

I brought 1/4 cup of quinoa to a boil with 3/4 cup of water, which was too much, but it worked out in the end, I promise.

In a separate skillet, I sauteed a stalk of celery with a huge hunk of onion.

When the quinoa was cooked, I dumped in a cup of peas, and my sauteed veggies.

Mmm, so yummy!

Since it was so soggy, I decided that, instead of draining it and losing all those awesome flavors, that I’d dump it all back into the skillet that I had cooked my onion and celery in.

Oh, wow, fantastic idea!  My mistake begat a definite winner.

While the quinoa would have picked up all sorts of wonderful tastes from my cooked veggies, by dumping it back into the pan, the extra water de-glazed the onion and celery residue, thereby infusing the flavor all throughout the quinoa.

Very sweet and juicy, despite not being in season.

I dumped it onto a bed of chopped romaine, then topped it with avocado and 2 tbs of hummus (diluted with water to make a drizzle).

One of my best salads to date, no doubt.

I was craving sweets after lunch, so I foraged up the last orange (rhymes with sporange, by the way, so now next time somebody tells you that nothing rhymes with orange, you can say, “Nuh-uh, it rhymes with sporange, and I’m smarter than you, so there, hah!” because you’re ornery like myself) from my fridge.

Fact: don’t really care for cold fruit.  I tried to let it come to room temperature, but was antsy.  My teeth suffered the chill for my impatience.

I love this peanut butter!

I also snacked on a brown rice cake smeared with my favorite peanut butter, the Kirkland Organic.

Omigosh, I could eat this peanut butter smeared on shoe leather…except I wouldn’t, because…it’s leather, and I’m sorta a veggie, so that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

But, if I had to eat shoe leather, this peanut butter would make it palatable.

And chocolate was mandatory.

Love these dark choccy meltaways!

So, I went ahead and made a doctor’s appointment.

I’m excited and anxious — I hope they find out what’s wrong with me, but I’m worried that they won’t actually perform a battery of tests on me like I hope they will.  I’ll be sure to insist on it, though.

The appointment’s not for two weeks, though, which is actually quite reasonable for a sliding-scale open-door clinic with a non-emergency issue.

The only downside?  It’s on my birthday.  I don’t mind, actually.  Birthdays really mean nothing to me, anyway.

Do you like your fruit cold, or do you prefer it eaten at room temperature?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

