Good morning!

So, I’m still on the fence about amaranth.  Evidently, my indecision has caused me to develop a lisp and break out the weak puns, so bear with me here as I mull this one over.

In researching my symptoms, I found quite a few websites telling me that my tummy issues (yes, it’s not just edema) could be related to one of three things: 1) gluten intolerance 2) dairy intolerance 3) egg or some other hidden allergy.

Since I don’t eat gluten or dairy, I’m wondering if since I’ve started eating whole eggs (instead of just the whites), if that’s making me sick?  Another possibility is fructose malabsorption, since my cold hunger after eating fruit is related to it, and I do get ill after eating breakfast, which always features fruit.

Yep, I’m definitely calling the doctor today.

Amaranth, frozen blueberries, almonds, and coconut milk.

I woke up with no hunger this morning, so I decided to go with amaranth for breakfast, since it takes about a half hour to cook on the stovetop.

However, within minutes, hunger hit me like a ton of bricks, so I broke off a piece of a Cashew Almond Boomi Bar and snacked on it.  No picture, sorry.

Since I’m going eggless for the day, I decided to increase my typical 1/4 cup of cereal to 1/3 of a cup.  I won’t lie; it made me anxious to eat so many carbs without any protein to balance it out.

But, I’m strong, and I forged onward.

Since my Dollar Tree bowl was so popular yesterday, I brought him back today.

I learned a trick to fluffing up the amaranth, by the way.

I used 1 1/3 cup of water to my 1/3 cup of amaranth.  After I cooked it for a half hour, it still looked like it was sitting in a ton of water.

However, after I stirred it, it became homogeneous.  At that point, I added about 1/2 cup of almond milk to it, and it absorbed it actually rather well.

Yay, an extra half-cup of food!

Hey, food excites me.  We all have our quirks.  This is mine.

No added sugar needed; the toppings sweetened it up nicely.

I don’t know if anyone else out there has tried amaranth, but if you have, did you notice that it gets little tails on it, not unlike quinoa?

Nifty, right?

It also pops.

Oh, both literally, and figuratively, actually.  Did you know you can pop amaranth like you can popcorn?

Also, when you eat it, you can bite into the little grains (seeds, actually) and they sort of *pop* in your mouth.  Fun!

I love this flavor combination! Coconut milk is so creamy.

The other thing I noticed about amaranth is that its taste vaguely resembles dirt.

Mmm, dirt.

I don’t eat beets for that same reason.

Or dirt.  I don’t eat dirt for that reason, either.  Tastes too much like dirt for my liking.

I wonder if anyone has ever eaten dirt, spat it out, and thought, “Ptew!  Tastes like beets, yuch!”

Simple, but satisfying.

To top off my amaranth, I poured a bunch of blueberries into a 6-oz ramekin, and threw them in the microwave for 1:45 minutes.

When they were squishy and simmering in juice, I poured them onto my porridge.  I then drizzled them with a tablespoon of full-fat coconut milk, added about 1/4 cup or so of almonds (a couple fistfuls), then drizzled another tablespoon of coconut milk onto it.

I loved how the blueberry juice sort of mingled with the coconut milk like a flirt at a cocktail party.

So, the verdict is still out.  I still have a serving or two of amaranth left, which will give me plenty of time to decide, I’m sure.

Amaranth: tried it? Love it or hate it?  What’s your favorite breakfast cereal, hot or cold?

Off to call the doctor now and set up that appointment.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

