Good afternoon!

Drat, missed the morning by mere minutes.

Today is off to a much better start than yesterday, I’m happy to report.  I’m still retaining water like mad, which is irking the heck out of me, but all of your kind words on yesterday’s post really lifted me up and made me feel better.  Thank you!

So, with a gallon of water coursing through my body last night, it suffices to say that I didn’t get any sleep last night.  When Amor came in to wake me up, I begged for another twenty minutes of sleep.  There was no way I was getting up at 9:15 this morning after the restless night I had.

He came back at 9:50 to wake me, and I sat up, put on a charade of getting out of bed, but as soon as his back was turned, I buried myself back under the comforter and snagged another hour’s worth of sleep.

Oh, what a difference it made!  My eyes went from feeling like they were filled with sand and weighed down with lead sinkers to me bounding out of bed and skipping to the kitchen to start my breakfast.

Juiciest peaches EVER.

Since I wasn’t very hungry this morning, I had time to mull over what I wanted for breakfast.  I debated on amaranth, since it takes a half hour to cook, but talked myself out of it.

Finally, I settled in quinoa, and decided to cook it for few extra minutes to see if I could somehow coax it into absorbing more water and become creamy like my kasha.

It didn’t.

Funny, isn’t it?  If you’re serving a dish of quinoa to guests, nine times out of ten, it’ll become mealy, mushy, and overcooked.  But the one dang time you try to overcook it yourself, on purpose, and it flat-out refuses to comply.

Go figure.

This was heaven in a bowl. So delicious!

Nevertheless, after adding cinnamon, vanilla, a whole egg, and a splash of almond milk, it turned out pretty dang creamy and fantastic.

Hm, creamy porridge.  What goes well with cream?

Oh yes.  Peaches.

Yesterday, in her comment on one of my posts, Gaby unknowingly planted the craving for peaches and cream into my unconscious.

The peaches that Amor had bought a couple nights ago were sitting in a bag, ripening, on the counter.  I pulled a few out, and they were perfect.

I chose the most bruised, ugly one, because you know those are always the ripest, sweetest, juiciest ones.

Like my bowl? Dollar Tree FTW!

Since peaches give me false-hunger, I chopped them up and threw them in the microwave for two minutes.

Oh dear me.  They pretty much completely exploded in juice in the microwave.  I kid you not, they were simmering in about an ounce or so of peach juice when I pulled them out of the nuker.

I poured my porridge into one of my pretty new Dollar Tree bowls (nothin’ but high class here, yo) and poured the peaches onto it.

I topped it with several handfuls of sliced almonds, then poured two tablespoons of full-fat coconut milk over it.

I think a bit of honey or maple would have brought this over from awesome to brain-asploding, but since I’m out of both, I enjoyed it as it was, and truth be told, it was plenty sweet and amazing the way it was.

Do you buy yourself pretty plates, bowls, spoons, etc?  Where do you buy them? Mine are from yard sales, thrift stores, Ross, and now Dollar Tree.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

