Hello!  Good afternoon!

Sorry for the delay, but I’ve been researching phytoestrogen and the foods that have them in it.

Thank you so much for all of your sweet comments on last night’s post! ❤

I had a terrifying moment when I read that buckwheat was high in lignans (a phytoestrogen, sort of like isoflavones — but don’t quote me on that), but then I stumbled upon a website that boasted that flax has over 400 times the amount per gram.  Relief!

Breakfast was quick and delicious, but for some reason, not very filling.  I just finished eating not even an hour ago and I still feel very hungry.

Delicious!

I prepared my kasha a little bit differently today.

Since the adzuki beans I prepared yesterday lent so nicely to sweet foods, I threw in 1/4 cup just to up the protein content.

They blended in wonderfully.  They maintained a bit of their firmness, even after simmering in with the kasha for ten minutes, which gave it a fun texture.  Plus, their mild, nutty palate complemented the smoky, nuttiness of the kasha beautifully.

Baked cinnamon apples, my beloved peanut butter, and kasha.

I added in a teaspoon of cinnamon and vanilla into the kasha, and very purposefully omitted the flaxseeds.

For the apples, I sprinkled them with cinnamon, stirred them, then nuked them for two minutes.  Then I stirred them again, added a splash of water, and nuked for another two minutes.  When they were tender, I tossed them with a splash of vanilla almond milk.  Delish!

With the kasha, I cracked in an entire egg, and stirred in a bit of almond milk for creaminess.  I topped it with a heaping tablespoon of my beloved Kirkland Organic Peanut Butter.

Mmm, perfect flavor combination.

So, either something in the breakfast is upsetting my stomach, or my body is immune to protein.

A quick analysis of my breakfast shows that it contains almost 23g of protein, over 17g of fat, 14g of fiber (the infamous “filling” triad)…and my stomach is still growling.

I know apples give me false-hunger (not sure why), but I cooked them thoroughly and I’m still hungry.  Hmm.  I must look into this — there’s a good chance that I really am just hungry, and I need another snack.

Do certain foods make you hungrier after you eat them? Apples do, for me, as well as carrots, peaches, and winter squash.  I can load them up with protein and fat (ie: an apple with peanut butter, or carrots with a handful of walnuts) and I’ll be ready to eat my arm in twenty minutes.  What the heck causes that?!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

