Morning, everyone!

I hope everyone is doing well today.

I’m pretty good, considering I couldn’t sleep a wink last night.  I was up until almost 2 am with my mind racing (so much to do before my mum gets here!) and then United called to inform me at 6 this morning that Mum’s flight was still on schedule, as planned.

My sleep was thin from there on out, because I was worried if I slept too hard, I might miss an Important Phone Call from mum or something.

(Note my use of the proper noun?  Somebody else I know does that, and I love it; it’s so charming!  Hah.  Klepto strikes again.)

I say this every time, but THIS is my new favorite breakfast.

Onto breakfast!

For once in my life, I’m proud of myself for being stubborn and not being able to throw stuff away.

I prepared my kasha as I typically do, with a beaten egg slowly stirred in.  I omitted the flax (I see more flax in my future later today in the form of another MIM; those buggers are addictive!) and again, it was super creamy and thick and sweet.

Recognize the star of the show?

I recently switched to sweetened vanilla almond milk by Pacific, which has a couple more grams of sugar and a few more calories than the sweetened plain, and I think that’s part of why my breakfast has been so sweet lately.

Sadly, the Pacific was no longer on sale, and Blue Diamond was almost a dollar cheaper for sweetened vanilla, and it’s got a ton more sugar in it than what I’m used to.  I’m trying to be “normal” so I’m not going to let it bother me, but I’m hoping the extra sweetness isn’t overwhelming!

Oh well.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get there, right?

With a peanut butter drizzle. Yum!

So, anyway, back to how I can’t throw anything away.  (Hello — I ate chocolate that was over a year old yesterday!)

I chopped and nuked a golden delicious apple with some cinnamon, and when it was tender (I went for three minutes this time, since I had a bit of stomach pain last time I ate an apple), I tossed it with a splash of vanilla almond milk.

As I started to pour my porridge into a dish, I remembered something.

I remembered that I had stubbornly refused to throw something away yesterday, something that I had deemed a lumpy, curdled flop.

Everything tasted so sweet and delicious today!

That’s right.  Curdled Custard came out to play.

Okay, a miracle happened.  I don’t know what, but somehow in the night, the flavors and sweetness intensified or something, but the custard actually tasted pretty darn good today.

Actually, my entire breakfast tasted very pleasantly sweet, but the only added sugar is in the almond milk (9 grams per cup, and I generally use only about a half cup) and I used 2 teaspoons of added sugar in the entire 2+ cup batch of custard!

Needless to say, I was thrilled.  (Oh, btw: I ate the grapefruit after all last night, and it, too, tasted very sweet and amazing.  Are my tastebuds really changing?  This is exciting!)

Spiced cooked apples, vanilla custard, peanut butter drizzle. Heaven in a bowl!

Onto my creamy cinnamon groats, I added several heaping spoonfuls of the vanilla custard from yesterday (note how it went from “curdled custard” to “vanilla custard”…hah).

I topped it with the cooked apples, then drizzled a tablespoon of peanut butter glaze on top of the entire ensemble.

Oh my gosh, amazing!  So good!

Now I really do need to perfect this recipe, because I want to add it to everything.

I now am full of nervous energy and  I’m ready to tackle the mess before my mum gets here, but the cable guy has been here for two hours and shows no sign of departing.  Is it sad that I wiped down the counters and put the dishes in the sink before he got here?  Yeah.  Oh well.  Needed to be done anyway, right?

Have you ever cleaned your front room for the pizza delivery guy or tried to make your house presentable for a minor house guest before? Mum’s gonna be all like, “Oh, you didn’t have to clean up for me!” and I’ll simply reply, “Mum, I didn’t do it for you.  I did it for the cable guy.”

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

