Afternoon!

Morning?  Can I pretend for another few minutes that the noon hour has not yet passed?

And, by the way, doesn’t “curdled custard” sound like “Colonel Mustard”?

All right, folks, we have a mystery on our hands here, and let’s see if we can’t solve it.

Blueberries and almonds = best flavor combo ever!

Crime: Being Unaesthetic

Where: In my bowl

Who: Curdled Custard

Weapon: Lumpiness

So, my breakfast was Being Unaesthetic by Curdled Custard no other than In My Bowl with Lumpiness.

And a touch of blackstrap molasses for extra smokiness.

Right.

Ne’er fear, it’s nothing that Detective Toasted Almonds and Fresh Ripe Blueberries can’t solve!

With the aid of their trusty sidekick, Blackstrap Molasses, they’ll solve this riddle and fix this fiasco right proper.

Despite his ugly exterior, Mr. Breakfast had a sweet and gentle side.

Whew, ugly breakfasts really do bring out the random in me, don’t they?

Hey, it’s my best strategy: divert and dazzle!

In short, when trying to cook custard without having any sugar in the house, don’t use the burner on the stove that gets too hot, certainly don’t make this attempt when you have groats that need attention on the other burner, and by no means, never attempt it while hungry.

The creaminess of the (hideous) custard meshed well with the crunch of the almonds.

A last-ditch effort to salvage it with extra cornstarch and applesauce and another half cup of almond milk created this unappealing blob that graced my breakfast bowl.

It wasn’t very sweet, and I wasn’t paying attention so it did curdle and lump, but a drizzle of blackstrap on the top of it did redeem the flavor.

Even better, each 1/3 cup serving provided me with approximately 4 grams of protein, so I know that with a bit more effort, I can fix this and make something healthful and delicious for myself in the near future.

All in all, a very satisfying meal.

Oh, by the way, thanks for all of your amusing tales of ruthless thievery on last night’s post.

I loved waking up and reading them, and some of them made me laugh out loud.  It’s nice to know that I’m not the only person out there who steals food from roomies, filches their fella’s shirts, baked things for others and only to eat it by myself, or took her sister’s make-up when she wasn’t looking — you know who are you are!  Funny thing is, I’ve done all of those things, and probably countless others that I can’t recall offhand.

We’re a shameless lot, aren’t we?  Hah.

On another note, I may not be able to post this afternoon, but I’ll try to get a quick note up about my lunch.  I need to get my house spotless for my mum’s visit tomorrow, and I’ve barely made a dent in the mess.  (We use our guest room as a storage room, and I’m telling you, it’s not easy to relocate boxes and boxes of paperwork, clothes, and other strange things that are accumulating dust.)

Do you have any tips or advice for streamlining the cleaning process? I have a long day ahead of me, and any way to make it go by quicker would be most appreciated!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

