Good morning, everyone!

I’ll refrain from commenting on the fact that it’s Monday, and move on to more exciting things, such as my breakfast.

Hey, sometimes breakfast is the only thing that gets me out of bed in the morning, just so you know.

Mmm, spiced apples...perfect complement to the groats!

Other times, it’s the crushing weight of the twenty-pound behemoth sitting on my chest.

In my household, merely sleeping is a life or death struggle.

At least, when there’s a fat, cranky old beast named Wookiee involved.

I woke up feeling a warm, heavy pressure on my chest, the kind that doctors warn you about to get thee to an ER, like, STAT if you ever experience it.

And a caramelly peanut butter glaze to top it all off!

Another two minutes with The Wooks on my chest, and there would have been nothing the paramedics could to to revive me.

Fortunately, I was able to muster all my strength and roll over, hence tumbling his furry black behind onto the floor.

He cast me a resentful glare, then strode off in search of either food or another warm body to cuddle with.

Then I, ever mission-bound, headed into the kitchen to prepare something delicious to wake up my tastebuds.

The groats were extra creamy today. Yum!

Sometimes I get into these food ruts because I feel “obligated” to eat something just because it is there.

Take, for instance, the blueberries.  I like blueberries in my breakfast, so it’s a logical conclusion to add them to it, right?

Plus, they have a tendency to spoil the moment you ignore them.

However, I stocked up on apples this week at the grocery store, and I really wanted apples.  I don’t get to treat myself to them very often because they trigger “false hunger” (I have no idea how else to describe it, sorry!).  But, if I cook the apples, the reaction is greatly reduced.

Yum! One of my best breakfasts as of late!

I chopped an apple then tossed it with a bit of cinnamon, then nuked it for two and a half minutes.

Once they were cooked, I drizzled them with a bit of vanilla almond milk, and set them aside.

My groats were prepared as usual, but without the flaxseed and also with the addition of a whole egg.

I don’t know if it’s the combination of leaving out the flax or what, but these groats were extra sweet and creamy today, and almost…icky?

Yes, icky.  Poetic descriptions are clearly my forte.

All ick aside, the taste was fantastic!

Loved this breakfast!

Not so pretty, but they did taste pretty dang awesome.

To make the sauce, I mixed a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter with a splash of almond milk, nuked ten seconds, stirred, then added in about a half a teaspoon of blackstrap molasses.

The taste was a peanut-buttery, slightly smoky caramel flavor.

Yum.

The flavors just worked.

What gets you out of bed in the morning?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

