Evening!

I’m just going to apologize in advance for any wonkiness in tonight’s post, since I’m blogging from a new computer.

I spent about a half hour puzzling the heck over the photo editing software before finally figuring it out, but that does little to redeem the poor quality of my pictures tonight or any typos that may result.

I decided for dinner tonight, I was going to try an idea that Alyssa had put in my head this morning

Innocent looking bowl of porridge, no?

She suggested beans for breakfast.

I’m not sure if she meant savory, such as in an omelette or the like, but when she said beans, my brain thought: porridge!

I’ve tried pease porridge before, if you recall.

Inside this bowl of groats lies a secret.

However, it was very labor intensive, and not very voluminous.

For breakfast, I like lots of food.

The gears in my brain started working overtime, and it occurred to me, why not integrate a high protein legume in with my grains?

Lentils integrated nicely with the kasha.

Since lentils cook in a jiffy, I went ahead and set a serving (approximately a quarter cup) to boil.

After they had cooked for ten minutes, I drained and rinsed them, then returned them to the pot.

I added 1/4 cup kasha and 1.25 cups of water and let it cook for another ten minutes.

After they had cooked for ten minutes, I drained and rinsed them, then returned them to the pot. 

I added 1/4 cup kasha and 1.25 cups of water and let it cook for another ten minutes. 

After a bit of experimenting, I found the appropriate water-food ratios, and wound up adding another entire cup of liquid to my porridge!

Got hungry not long after, sadly.

(Side note: wordpress just ate my post — confound them!  Evidently, the last time it saved my draft was over six minutes ago.  Boo on you, wordpress!)

(And it ate it again!  At least I was smart enough to CTRL+C it beforehand!  Heh.)

I added 1/4 cup raisins, a tablespoon of milled flaxseed, a half cup of almond milk, a teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon, a dollop of peanut butter, and a drizzle of blackstrap molasses.

Unfortunately, even though I ate it less than four hours ago, I’m starving again, despite enjoying a snack of rice cake, peanut butter, and banana maybe fifteen minutes ago.

I need to figure out how stretch the satiety of this breakfast.  More fat, maybe?

Do you like beans/pulses/legumes?  What’s your favorite kind?  I love black eyed peas, though I can never find them at the grocery store when I go.

(Sorry; I’m having to publish this without spell-check.  Every time I try, wordpress attemps to crash on me.  Forgive me for my Kaz: Raw and Unedited, but I’m famished and simply must get a snack before I crawl into bed.)

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

