Afternoon, everyone!

How’s your day treating you?

I am so ready for the weekend, that’s for darn tootin’.

As predicted, my hunger was soaring today, and as soon as I hit ‘publish’ this morning, I was out foraging for more food.

Breakfast, while yummy, did not keep me full. This helped.

I enjoyed a Nutiva Flax & Raisin hempseed bar.

While delicious, they tend to crumble a bit when kept at room temperature, so I keep them frozen to help them solidify.

Yum.

Why, hello, good lookin'!

Today, while I was doing my usual rounds of blogging, I stumbled upon a recipe that I knew I needed to make.

Like, now.

As in, when will lunch be here, so I can make it, because I want to try it.

One of the best flavor combinations I have ever tried, seriously.

Now, when a foodie says, “This is the best thing I ever ate,” you perk your ears forward and listen.

And when that foodie is a blogger you admire and respect, and they say something like that, you know to move quickly, because they ain’t messing around.

So, when Kristina declared her lunch to be the best thing she ever ate, I took heed.

Yumness!

After reading her recipe and ogling her yummy pictures, I knew I had to make her Colorful Quinoa Salad today, for lunch, right now, immediately.

Having all the ingredients on hand in my kitchen only sealed the deal further.

I had tried another one of her recipes in the past before and loved it, so I knew this one would be a winner.

Oops, almost forgot the almonds!

Her original recipe was posted as follows:

Colorful Quinoa Salad (found on spabettie.com)

– Quinoa

– Black beans

– Edamame

– Mango

– Red onion

– Marcona almonds

– Sea salt, to taste

Being unable to eat soy, and having no red onion or marcona almonds on hand, I did have to make a couple changes, but nothing major.

Mmm, totally hit the spot!

I substituted in green peas for the edamame, and loved it.  If you can’t eat soy, perhaps you could try it with peas, instead?

And for the red onion, all I had was white, but it still tasted superb.  Nobody will be kissing me for a long while, but I’d eat it all over again and face pariahship once more for another taste.

And, for the marcona almonds, I used plain, slivered almonds.  I also think maybe walnuts would work in this? (What do you think, Kristina?)

A feast fit for a Kaz!

To make one serving, I cooked 1/4 cup of quinoa and mixed it with 2/3 cup frozen peas and 1/2 cup of black beans.

I chopped up a wedge of onion and about a quarter of a mango (next time, I’ll use more).

I also threw in some avocado, for healthful fats, and since I’m trying to watch my salt, I used a touch of fresh grated ginger.  I sprinkled it with a pinch (maybe a quarter cup, or less?) of slivered almonds.

I served it over a bed of romaine, and just…wow.

Girl, you are right.  This is The Best Thing I Ever Ate.  Thanks for sharing the recipe with us!

Try this, guys.  You won’t be disappointed.  And when your tastebuds are done singing, run over and tell Kristina how awesome it is, because the girl’s a genius!

Now, my dessert just feels anticlimactic after that, but c’est la vie.

Pretty orange swirls...shiny!

In search of a high protein snack, I stumbled upon cocoa powder.

My tin of cocoa states that it has 1 g of protein per serving, and after cross-referencing it online, I confirmed that yes, for about 90 calories you can get 8 grams of protien.

Score!

I mixed 5 tbs of cocoa powder with about 1/4 cup of almond milk, 3/4 cup of frozen raspberries and a small banana.  I pureed it in my food processor, and I kid you not, dark chocolate raspberry mousse all the way.  (By the way, my snack was about 7 grams of protein; not too shabby!)

Not particularly sweet, either, but I want to try it with frozen cherries next time (I have me an epic sweet tooth, seriously).  And, picking seeds out of my teeth sorta-kinda annoys me.

What’s the best recipe you ever stumbled upon on somebody’s blog?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

