Afternoon, everyone!

It’s a beautiful day, and I hope to get out there and enjoy it.

Plus, I have tons of mail arriving today, so I’m all kinds of super excited and can’t wait for it to get here.

And, my mum is coming to visit me in a week.

Sounds like everything should be pretty spot-on then, right?

PB & J quinoa porridge...so delish!

For the most part, it is.

But, for some stupid reason, my body is reacting adversely to something I’m eating, and I can’t pinpoint exactly what it is.

This has been frustrating me to tears because, dang it, my diet has already been picked clean and all of my favorite foods have been thrown out.

What else do I have to give up to appease my body?

Frozen cherries pureed with banana made a fantastic "jelly" for my peanut butter bowl.

I’m back to quinoa, mostly because the unexplained inflammation began right about the time I started eating the kasha.

I don’t know for sure, and I seriously doubt it’s the kasha, but the timing is suspect.

I love quinoa, so I don’t mind, but I’ll be pretty displeased if I can’t eat buckwheat, either.

No, no, no. THIS is my new favorite breakfast!

I cooked 1/4 cup of quinoa in a cup of water for fifteen minutes, then added a tablespoon of milled flaxseed, cinnamon, vanilla, and enough almond milk to make it creamy (approximately 1/2 cup-ish?).

In my food processor, I blended a dozen frozen cherries with a perfectly ripe banana.

I had originally intended to make a parfait, much like yesterday, but the quinoa wouldn’t stand for that.  It leapt into the bowl and gave the banana-cherry mash a big hug and I didn’t dare try to deter their affections.

I can't wait to make this again soon. So good!

Instead, I let them mingle, and drizzled the remaining puree onto the quinoa.  I topped it with a huge scoop of peanut butter, and my tastebuds sing.

Note to self: teach tastebuds more songs; “The Hills are Alive” is getting sort of old.

So yeah, my health.

My sister called me this morning and asked me what else I was eating, and mentioned how tomatoes and strawberries tend to trigger reactions in people.  My mum is allergic to strawberries, so it would be very ironic if my huge smoothies, consumed in order to counteract the water retention, are making me sick.

I’ve also started eating mushrooms more, too, which might be something to look into?

Not sure.

Long story short, last night I was retaining an impressive gallon of water.

I know this because I weighed myself before bed and when I woke up this morning — and to be as discreet as possible, I didn’t get much sleep last night.  I was down eight pounds from last night.

I eat salt, but not that much.  I drink plenty of water, but not excessively.  I do get thirsty, but my output doesn’t seem to match my intake.  I limit my caffeine (three cups of green tea in the morning, though for several days I went completely caffeine free and still to no avail), and have tried ginger and other natural remedies.  My pants do not fit (for some odd reason, my waistline is normal, but the rest of me is pretty uncomfortable).  I’m not completely sedentary, either, and I’ve been avoiding grains this past week, thinking it might be the trigger.

Plus, it’s been going on for almost two weeks now, so it’s not exactly a female issue.  (Sorry, gents.)

Wow, look at me ramble on and on!  Hah.

Do you avoid certain foods due to adverse reactions? I know if I just listen to my body, it’ll tell me what to eat, but sometimes it’s difficult when all I want is a cookie or ice cream.  Heh.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

