Afternoon!

How did your Saturday go?

Mine’s been pretty nice; I’ve been in the kitchen all day, experimenting with recipes.

Why do I have to have such an expensive, caloric hobby?

Roasted sweet potatoes, cinnamon, peanut butter drizzle.

The first recipe was a total flop, and the second was a mostly flop.

More on that in a second.

Lunch consisted of some roasted sweet potato medallions.  I’m officially addicted to these.  I have taken to looking for the widest, thickest sweet potatoes I can find at the grocery store, just so I can have these broad, crispy medallions.

So yummy!

I tossed them in olive oil after steam-nuking them for five minutes, then roasted them at 4oo F for ten minutes, flipped them, and roasted them for another five.

The drizzle is just a tablespoon of peanut butter and a small pour of almond milk.  Ten seconds in the microwave and it’s the perfect consistency.

I even have enough for leftovers -- go me!

For the protein/veggie part of my lunch, I was craving a smoothie, and went with it.

In my blender, I added several large handfuls of spinach, about a cup of almond milk/water (I ran out and didn’t want to open a fresh carton) and a half of a pound of frozen strawberries.  I also added a dozen-odd frozen cherries, a tablespoon of cocoa powder, and a tablespoon of rice protein powder.

Boring, but tasty.  I enjoyed it, at least.

Not bad; not bad at all.

Then I rolled up my sleeves and headed into the kitchen as a girl on a mission.

I wanted to make a completely grain free breakfast loaf.

My first batch I tried to make vegan, with milled flaxseed, and it never set.  It was the tastiest bean mash I had ever tasted, at least.

Delicious, but a bit too moist.

The second batch set, but it never fully cooked through.

Either I didn’t cook it long enough (despite having cooked it for over an hour) or it was too wet of a batter.

I’m afraid it was the batter, though.  I have ideas on how to thicken it — more flax?  tapioca? — but I’m cooked out and don’t really care to waste more eggs on another potential flop.

Oh my gosh, though, it was so yummy!

However, I noticed that once it cooled down a bit, it cut nicely into squares, so I could fathom turning it into muffins.

Nevertheless, a failed experiment or not, the taste was amazing.  I also hesitate to tinker with it, for fear it’ll ruin the flavor.

We’ll see.  I just might get bored later; who knows?

How did you spend your Saturday?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

