Good morning, everyone!

Sorry for the late start, but I actually allowed myself to sleep late this morning.

Granted, it was for only about twenty minutes, but I needed it.

I woke up with a mind on my buckwheat groats.  I think I have a new obsession, and its name is kasha.

Banana, maple, and walnuts. Perfect!

The groats have a slight smoky, nutty taste to them, and every time I eat them, I tell myself I need to pair them with a sharp sweet and a sharp savory.

Today I went with it, and added bananas and walnuts, with a slight drizzle of pure maple syrup.

Perfection.

But what does the picture not show?

However — and you’re just gonna have to take my word for it — there’s a hidden layer underneath the hot, delicious groats.

Before dumping the porridge atop it, I hid a layer of frozen blueberries, sprinkled with cinnamon, in the bottom of the bowl.

When hot groats hit icy blueberries, they melted and created this amazing, sweet, juicy layer and it was just…yum.

The kasha is so good that it doesn't even need added sugar.

I almost added a whole egg to this, for an extra punch of protein, but…

I shudder at the memory.  Weak tummies, stop reading here.

So I cracked the egg, and the white was, well, not.  It was actually sort of rusty-hued.

Puzzled, I finished pouring the reddish white into a small cup, and that’s when I spotted the yolk.

So good!

Do not read this if you’re gonna puke all over the place.  I don’t want to be blamed for projectile pea soup.

Dude, there was a clot on the egg yolk.

I have no idea what it was, or why my egg was hemorrhaging, but I threw it away.

But, not before snapping tons of pictures of it.  None of which I will post here.

My guess is, since it was an organic egg, that perhaps Mr. Rooster spotted Ms. Hen and the rest is history, but it makes me feel awful to think that a baby chicken may have died just so I could artlessly throw away its remains whilst choking back my gorge.

Yes, I sound like a sappy tree hugging hippie.  Sue me.

What do you think it was?  Was it fertile?  Or was it something else?  I’m pretty much off eggs for now, until I know for sure.  Ew-yuck-gross!

Have you ever stopped eating something that you enjoyed due to a bad experience? I doubt this will put me off eggs forever, but it saddens me to think that it might have been fertile.  Sigh.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

