Morning, everyone!

Sorry, my brain is all over the place this morning, and I can’t pinpoint any one thing I wish to mention today.

For starters, first and foremost:

Happy Birthday Little Brother!

Yep, my handsome, clever, witty, kind, and awesome baby brother turned 23 today!

Psh, doesn’t matter in the least how old he is.  He’s still always gonna be my kid bro.

Kasha, peanut butter, banana, almond milk.

I’m not sure how to preface this, but there’s something bothering me, and I’ve debated on whether or not to post it here.

I try to keep this blog related to food and what-have-you, but something happened sort of IRL that’s been on my mind since it occurred.

I have a Facebook account, and two days ago, I added a girl that I was friends with in high school.

Next time, I'll probably use walnuts to complement the smokiness of the groats.

You know how on Facebook, you can show who where you work, who you’re in a relationship, and what-have-you?

Well, my page clearly shows that I’m in a relationship with Amor.

Amor, if you can’t tell by my pet name for him, is not exactly Caucasian.

I also want to try this with coconut milk instead of almond. Yum.

I try to keep politics off this blog, and I realize an “interracial” relationship does spark debate and makes some people furious.  I have no idea why this bothers people, but I guess it does.

Anyway, yesterday this girl whom I added to my friends list — knowing full well I’m in a relationship with somebody whose last name isn’t exactly Smith — left a very racist remark on Facebook, right where Amor and I could see it.

Not my favorite flavor combination, but still good.

I have no idea how to handle this.

I mean, it wasn’t directed at myself or Amor directly, but when a friend posts an update, Facebook notifies you on your front page when you log in.  So yesterday, I was notified of this girl throwing around derogatory, hateful words.

Do I remove her from my friends and wait for her to ask me why?  Do I talk to her about it?  I mean, if she said it to me directly, I would have informed her that I did not appreciate her racist remark.  But, she said it to somebody else, but ever-sociable Facebook made sure to let me know that she had updated her comments.

What do I do?

Have you ever been in this situation before?  Have you ever personally experienced racism?

Any advice or suggestions on how to broach this with her would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

