Evening!

I had such a fun night!  Em came by again, and we enjoyed dinner and more peanut butter cups and all sorts of fun and random adventures together.

But first!  Gotta backtrack before I get lost.  I get confused easily, you know.

Okay, so.  When Em arrived, she arrived bearing gifts.

Picked fresh from her grandmother's back yard!

Oh, my gosh.

This lemon was the BEST lemon I had ever eaten, ever.

I cut off about 1/4 of it to drizzle over my dinner, and like, a cup of juice jumped into the bowl.

The rind was super sweet and tender, and the actual fruit was sweet and juicy and fresh and just a bit tart.

An improvised salad/dip for dinner.

I ate an entire lemon tonight, peel and all, and it was just whoa.

For dinner, I enjoyed a half an avocado, about 3/4 of a tomato, a huge wedge of onion, and about a third of of a cup of black beans mixed into a bowl.

And, of course, all that delicious lemon juice.

Oh my gosh.  Em!  You spoil me!

Gluten free crackers for dippage.

Em took all these pictures tonight, by the way.

Somehow she found this setting on my camera that makes all the pictures turn out vivid and bright and crisp.

I’ve had this camera for what, two months now?  And in Em’s hands, she’s just a natural with it.

My first papaya!

She also remembered me commenting offhand that I had never tried fresh papaya.

I mean, I just babble on and on all day long about random stuff, and she remembers all these amazing details and surprises me with spontaneous gifts like this.

And look at me, I can’t even remember for five minutes that she shares the exact same food intolerances as me.  That’s right.  She eats what I eat, and I’m like, “Oh, hey, want some yogurt?”

Chocolate dipped strawberries, just for fun.

Anyway, another reason Em is so awesome?

As we were eating these strawberries (the results of a random spree to Winco to buy the fixins for gluten-free carrot cake)  — best of the season, for sure — I checked to see where they were from, just because they were so dang good.

And I saw that they were from Salinas, so I made some silly offhand remark about how I had no idea where it was, but it was where I let Bobby McGee slip away.

I'll need to buy more of these tomorrow, they were that good.

Em got it!

She knows the song “Me and Bobby McGee”!

How cool is that?  Guys, that is like, complete proof that she and I were meant to be friends.

On the other hand, Amor had no idea what I was referring to.  I must rectify this soon.

You knew this was coming. I couldn't invite Em over without making another batch!

So, anyway.  Title of the post.

After playing “Me and Bobby McGee” on youtube, I had to listen to “Sunday Morning Coming Down”.

Guys?  Voltaire, The Cruxshadows, whomever…sure, they have the talent, but they have nothing on Kris Kristofferson.

I mean, can you dig these lyrics?

[from Sunday Morning Coming Down, Kris Kristofferson]

‘Cos there’s something in a Sunday,
Makes a body feel alone.
And there’s nothin’ short of dyin’,
Half as lonesome as the sound,
On the sleepin’ city sidewalks:
Sunday mornin’ comin’ down.

In the park I saw a daddy,
With a laughin’ little girl who he was swingin’.
And I stopped beside a Sunday school,
And listened to the song they were singin’.
Then I headed back for home,
And somewhere far away a lonely bell was ringin’.
And it echoed through the canyons,
Like the disappearing dreams of yesterday.

Sorry if this is a downer!

I’m actually in a splendid mood tonight, but listening to the olds but greats (Willie Nelson, anyone?) makes me nostalgic.

What kind of music do you listen to? My Dad got me started on the old country, and I can’t listen to Willie Nelson without thinking of him and feeling homesick.  And, listening to Carole King always makes me want to hug my mum. ❤

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

