Good morning, everyone!

How is everyone?

I have to admit, I’m feeling a little quirky this morning.

Sometimes, when struggling with my stomach and trying to determine what is and is not acceptable, strange and creative things occur in my kitchen.

You might be wondering why my breakfast has a sickly green hue to it...

I’ve been feeling very sick to my tummy this week, so I’m trying to branch out and try new “grains” to mix into my porridge.

While quinoa is nice, and grits taste amazing, and rice is a safe go-to, sometimes I want something different.

Something…green.

Maple syrup and almond butter drizzle. Delish!

Before I admit to what I ate, I should assure you: it tasted amazing.

Okay, now you’re curious.  I can see it in your eyes.

I don’t know how else to describe it, so I’ll just to out and say it.

Sweet and yet slightly savory. Yum.

I had pease porridge for breakfast.

Oh, don’t gag!  I’m sure you’ve eaten weirder things.

We’ve all heard the nursery rhyme, even though it’s puzzling in and of itself.

What, exactly, is pease porridge?

I ate every last bite. It was seriously that good.

In brief, I basically boiled up 1/4 cup split peas, pureed them, and then cooked them like I would cook any other bowl of porridge.

After boiling, draining, and rinsing my split peas, I pureed them then threw them back into the pot.  I added back in some water, until thick and creamy, then added in a banana, cinnamon, blackstrap molasses, and vanilla extract.

Then I threw in a tablespoon of milled flaxseed and a whole egg, beaten with two tablespoons of almond milk.

I will definitely make this again soon!

Then I stirred until custardy, then removed from heat.

I added back in enough almond milk to make it creamy, then placed in my bowl and topped it with almond butter glaze and real maple syrup.

If you’re wondering what it tasted like, honestly, it tasted like porridge.  Split peas have a rather neutral flavor, so they lent to sweet just as easily as they go to savory.

Now I’m waiting for the verdict from my stomach, as to whether or not it enjoyed it as much as I did.  If my stomach gives me the pease-green light, then I can definitely see this in my morning breakfast rotation.

What’s the most unusual thing you’ve ever eaten for breakfast? I’d have to say, this breakfast stretches the boundaries of normal.  Heh.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

