Evening, folks.

I have had such a fun and busy evening today.

After taste-testing cookies all afternoon, all I wanted for dinner was vegetables.

I started with a chopped mushroom to hold me over while dinner cooked.

I can't be the only person who loves to eat raw mushrooms.

As the oven preheated, Em sent me a text, kindly volunteering to taste-test my cookies.

I was thrilled to have a guinea pig (plus, me and over a dozen cookies just sitting around was a dangerous combination).

The neat thing about Em is that she shares a similar palate to me.

Em took this picture for me. Thanks, girl!

When she walked in the door, I had dinner ready.

Aren’t I so domestic?

I handed her a plate of steamed broccoli, roasted Brussels sprouts, chickpeas and black beans (seasoned with a pinch of cumin, paprika, and cayenne), and a bit of hummus drizzled over the mess in a haphazard manner.  Two leftover dolmas graced the side of her plate.

She enjoyed every bite.

I love having a friend who enjoys the random stuff that I eat!

Organic, fair trade banana.

As a hostess gift, she came bearing a bushel of organic, fair trade bananas.

She said when she saw them at the store, she thought of me and couldn’t resist picking out some for me.  I’m so lucky to have a friend like her!

We split one as dessert, round two.

Dessert round one?

Gluten free, soy free, dairy free, vegan. Perfect.

Chocolate chip cookies, of course!

Gluten-Free, Soy-Free, Dairy-Free Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies:

1/4 cup tapioca starch

3/4 cup brown rice flour

1/3 cup raw sugar

1 tbs milled flaxseed

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp baking soda

3 tbs coconut oil

1 tsp blackstrap molasses

1 tbs maple syrup

1 tbs almond milk

1/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 F.  Place 1/3 cup raw sugar in blender or food processor, and pulse until powdery. (You may use regular sugar if you prefer.)  Combine dry ingredients in your mixing bowl, and stir until evenly distributed.  Add wet ingredients, and stir until combined.  Add chocolate chips.

Drop into tablespoon sized blobs, two inches apart, on an oiled cookie sheet, and bake 7-8 minutes.  Allow to cool on the pan.

Makes 12.

So yum!

NOTES:

Cornstarch works fine in the place of tapioca, but has a weird aftertaste.  You may use regular sugar, if you wish, but for the sake of keeping this recipe vegan, I stuck with raw sugar.  I pulsed it because it doesn’t dissolve well in the batter, though.

The texture is somewhat grainy due to the flax.  Perhaps you can pulse yours finer, too?  Or, to use an egg, just double everything else, omit flax, and add a whole organic egg.

You may use agave or honey in place of the maple, to preference.  The blackstrap molasses acts as the caramelizing agent, much like brown sugar, so don’t omit it.

They appear sorta oily at first, as you’re rolling the dough, but have faith!  They turn out just fine, I promise.

For best results, chill the dough for a half an hour.

If I find you used applesauce in the place of the oil, I will find where you sleep and place a rodent in your bed.  Don’t you dare try to “low cal” my recipe!  It’s a treat, to be regarded as such.  If you want a low calorie snack, eat a banana.

I hope you enjoy it!  Let me know if you have any questions, okay?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

