Afternoon!

Wow, okay.

I’m just getting this out there: you’re lucky I’m posting now, because in about a half hour, I’m gonna be bouncing off the walls.

Just sayin’.

Steamed broccoli is wholly under-appreciated.

My lunch started with good intentions.

I couldn’t get the steamed broccoli I had last night out of my head.

After dinner last night, I debated on making more broccoli, but talked myself out of it.

Today, I absolutely fulfilled that craving and then some.

Sliced tomatoes and mushrooms, plus homemade hummus.

I wanted to dip my broccoli into hummus, but alas, the lifespan of a tub of hummus in this household is fleeting.

Instead, I cracked open a can of chickpeas and threw it into my food processor with some cumin, turmeric, coriander, minced onion, and olive oil.

I love it when I eat exactly what I’m craving.

Half a roasted sweet potato with peanut butter and maple syrup.

I suppose it’s always better than eating the complete opposite of what I’m craving.

“Wow, cake sounds really nice right now…I guess I’ll just have some rendered lard instead.”

How about not?

I love grapes. Delicious.

I also enjoyed half a roasted sweet potato with maple syrup and peanut butter.

For dessert, I enjoyed a large handful of grapes.

And, also for dessert?

What is this?

I really had no desire to eat anything I baked today.

I just wanted to bake.  I love baking, period.

I love the science of it.  I love the thrill of mixing ingredients and experimenting.  I love the excitement pulling whatever creation out of the oven and seeing if it turned out.

The reason of my hyperactivity. Yum!

Anybody who is anybody knows that my favorite dessert ever is a sponge with jam and cream.

This afternoon, I tried my hand at a tummy-friendly version of it.

It was almost a success.  Almost.

I blame one of three things, or maybe all:

1) My egg had the world’s smallest yolk.  What the heck?  It was cute at first, but when I tried mixing it with my dry ingredients, it crumbled into a paste.  Gah!  (I wound up mixing it with some leftover egg whites, but it wasn’t quite the same.)

2) My pan was too large.

3) The heat was too high.

Alas, my kitchen is a disaster zone.  Beating egg whites is messy business, especially when they fight back.  Once the dishes are done, I shall try again.

And now, here I am with no sponge recipe to show you, and I’m totally hyper on marshmallow fluff frosting.

Here, at least let me give you my fluff recipe, okay?  Then we can call it even until I can perfect my sponge.

Easy Honey-Marshmallow Fluff:

1 egg white

1/3 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

In a large, clean bowl, beat your egg whites to stiff peaks.  Bring honey to boil in a small saucepan.  When boiling, remove from heat, and slowly drizzle into egg whites on high power.  (Be careful!)  Continue to beat until frosting is light and fluffy (mine took two to three minutes).

This stuff is so absurdly easy and dangerous.

Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

