Afternoon, guys!

How’s everyone?

Today, I was on a mission.

A mission to make chocolate chip cookies.

Four tries later, and they’re still not perfect, but they’re dang good, and I’m pretty proud of myself.

Pre-bake cookie dough balls.

My first batch was okay, but I made a few basic errors that needed fixed.

In the second batch, I changed the mixing process around a bit and switched some ingredients.

Not bad.

Delish.

These cookies are 100% vegan.

They’re also gluten-free, soy-free, and dairy-free.

They also contain no fancy binders or gums, which is also pretty dang skippy.

Still a little bit too fluffy for my tastes, but I'm getting there.

My biggest struggle, other than the awful aftertaste that tapioca starch lends (gah!  yuck!) was trying to get them to collapse.

Does that make sense to anybody?

The earmark, to me, for a good chocolate chip cookie is when they sink a little bit around the chips as they cool.

Absolutely delicious.

My first batch was cooked too hot, as well, but it took me two batches to figure that out.

I cooked it at 350 F.

My third batch was a bust, too.  I reduced it to 325 F, then accidentally set the stove to convect.

Twelve minutes later, I had little hockey pucks.

However, when a team from the NHL spontaneously showed up on my porch not five minutes later, totally devastated and chagrined because they had somehow failed to remember to bring a puck with them, they were delighted to find my cookies.

I kid.  I don’t actually have a porch.

Totally moist, dense, and chewy.

I opened the oven, let it cool down, then tried again.

I let the batter chill, rolled it into little balls, and cooked it at 325 for 9 minutes.

Perfect…except that they didn’t collapse as much as I wanted them do, even though I reduced the leavening and the liquid.

I'm absurdly proud of myself for making these.

Then, finally, it dawned on me.

When things collapse, it’s because they’re too heavy to support themselves.

That’s generally a result from slightly under-baking…as well has a heavy ingredient.

I ate too many of these for lunch, and now I have a tummy ache. So worth it.

I’m convinced that I need to remove yet another tablespoon of liquid and replace it with fat.

I’m pretty sure it’s the fat that causes them to collapse.

However, I’ve now ran out of coconut oil, so my experimentation will have to wait for another day.

I’ll try one more time, though, with olive oil.  Maybe that’ll work?

I’ll have my final updates tonight, with a complete recipe.  Wish me luck!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

