Evening!

I hope that everyone’s had a good Thursday?  Right on.

And hey, that means it’s almost Friday, which gets us one day closer to the weekend.

I learned something today.

A sad, funny sort of something.

Or, should I say somethings?

Does anyone else love to snack on raw mushrooms? I ate two before dinner.

First, I love steamed veggies.

I used to think I hated them, but cooked to just tender, then slathered in hummus?

Oh dear.  That tub of Athenos hummus (best brand that I’ve found so far, and actually uses real tahini and olive oil!) isn’t going to last me through the week.

And secondly?  Steamed veggies don’t love me.

I enjoyed tons of steamed green beans and broccoli with hummus. So good!

Since I find blog euphemisms downright appalling, I’ll just go out and say it.

No — no, I can’t.  I can’t do that to you guys.

Sorry.

Steamed vegetables…make my stomach very, ahem, loquacious.

Nuked sweet potato, peanut butter, and maple syrup.

Plus, I think sweet potatoes also cause stomach pain.

I don’t know what it is with me and the beta carotene, but any time I try to eat something orange, it triggers a false-hunger response.

For instance, have you ever found yourself hungrier after eating an apple?  What is with that?

Chocolate rice cake, chocolate peanut butter, and strawberry jam. So good!

Sigh.  I’ll miss you, dear sweet ‘taters.

Dessert was delicious, as well.

For dessert round one, I enjoyed a chocolate rice cake with my homemade chocolate peanut butter, and strawberry jam.

Chocolate covered strawberries?  Psh, that’s for squares.  All the cool kids these days are eating strawberry covered chocolates.

Peanut Butter Cookie Larabars really do taste like cookies!

I also partook in half of this Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar, which I’m delighted to declare really does taste like a peanut butter cookie.

How do they do it?

Magic.

And, finally, a third dessert, just because I’m hip and I make the rules and the rules dictate that everyone must consume three desserts on random intervals throughout the month.

Guittard chocolate chips are my favorite.

Done and done.

I have a completely satisfied, albeit garrulous tummy.

Do you have any foods that actually make you hungrier than before you ate them? In addition to apples, I can’t eat carrots, winter squash, or oranges without wanting to eat my arm afterwards.  Even if I pair with protein and fat, I’m still even more famished twenty minutes later.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

