Evening, folks!

I decided not to muddle up the blogworld tonight with an inane post (I had salad, a pear, watermelon, and about 3 and a half muffins for dinner, go me!), and rather instead, I’m just going to cut to the chase.

I know why you came here tonight.

Banana Walnut Muffin

Gluten-Free Banana Walnut Muffins:

1.5 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour*

1/2 cup tapioca flour

1/4 cup raw sugar + 1 tbs for sprinkling

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

2 very large, very ripe bananas

1.5 tsp cinnamon

2 tbs. coconut oil

1 organic egg

3/4 cup minus 1 tbs almond milk

1 tbs vinegar

Preheat oven to 350.  In a mixing bowl, combine your flours (see comments below!), sugar, starch, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

In a separate bowl, mash your bananas, egg, oil.  Pour a tablespoon of vinegar into your measuring cup, then fill the cup 3/4 the way full.  Add soured milk to your wet mixture.

Pour your dry mixture into your wet mixture and stir until combined.  Add walnuts.

Measure into twelve muffins.  Sprinkle tops with sugar.

Bake for 15-18 minutes.  Eat.  Enjoy.

Notes:

I used a combination of 1/4 cup buckwheat flour, 1/2 cup chickpea flour, and the rest with 3/4 cup brown rice flour.  The taste was fantastic, but you can use 100% brown rice flour if you so wish, or experiment to taste.

To make a vegan version, substitute in 1 tbs milled flaxseed with 3 tablespoons hot water.  However, if you use eggs, I encourage the use of organic.

I think cornstarch would work fine in the place of the tapioca.

I used raw sugar, mostly because it’s only a dollar a pound for it at the grocery store.  Use whatever sugar you deem fit.  I don’t know how it would turn out with honey, maple, or agave, but I encourage you to experiment.  If you take out the sugar and use artificial sweeteners, I will kick you hard in the shins.

Same goes if you leave out the fat.  I will send mean thoughts in your general direction.  I used coconut oil, but I’m sure olive oil or even butter would work fine.

Um, I forgot to add vanilla.  Go for it.

One more thing!  I bake with my food scale, which means that my measurements are extremely precise.  That also means that my dry measurements are estimated!

I hope you enjoy!

However, here are my weighted measurements for bakers who prefer to cook that way:

Gluten-Free Banana Walnut Muffin Recipe:

60g chickpea flour

30g buckwheat flour

145g brown rice flour

70g tapioca flour

50g raw sugar + 10g for sprinkling

4g salt

6g baking powder

4g cinnamon

1 organic egg

56g walnuts

28g coconut oil

250g ripe bananas

3/4 cup minus 1 tbs almond milk

1 tbs vinegar

These muffins prove that good food does equal love.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

