Good evening!

How are you?

Good?

Good!

Well, my dinner was interesting.

I’ll just let the pictures do the talking.

Looked funny, but tasted pretty decent.

Jenn’s blog got me thinking about melted cheese on pasta noodles, and I took it one step further and decided to make melty-cheesy chili mac.

Translation: when I take things “one step further,” it generally means I’m about to screw it up epic-fail style.

Yeah, no.

Hers looked amazing.  Mine sorta resembled…I’m not going there.

Needless to say, I need to get me to the Co-op ASAP and get me some rice cheese.  This cheesy noodle obsession will not end until I get my fix.

Once I mixed it all together, it tasted even better; however, that made it look even more funky.

The “cheese” sauce is an improvised nooch-cheese recipe that I experimented with this afternoon.

I don’t like nooch, but I liked this stuff.

However, it’s still being tinkered with.  It was a wee bit too thick, and too salty.

It sorta tasted like processed boxed mac-n-cheese. I mean that in a good way.

However, since Jenn’s yummy eats made me totally covetous, I decided to klepto another idea from her.

Her vinegar-tossed string beans looked beyond amazing, so I decided to try those.

I simmered them for five minutes then blanched them in ice water while I plated my noodles.

I tossed them in balsamic vinegar (I didn’t have any red wine vinegar, alas) and a sprinkle of minced onion.

Now these were a hit!

Rock on!

Jenn, when I get me some rice cheese, I’m stealing your mock-baked ziti recipe.

So there.

Wonderfully ripe and juicy cantaloupe. So good!

Dessert entailed the rest of an almost too ripe cantaloupe.

Then, as expected, I had another dish of the awesome coconut-milk ice cream.

Of course.

All the flavors of wonderful and yum exist in this bowl.

Then I had a pear that was so ripe, I actually had to dump it into a bowl and eat it with a spoon.

Oh, yes, please!

I tried eating it normally, but I was wearing more of it than I was eating.

This was *the* perfect pear.

And then I learned a hard, but valuable, lesson.

Sometimes — but only sometimes! — chocolate can be inferior.

At least, it can be when compared to coconut.

It tasted good, but the texture was off.

I used a different brand of coconut milk, added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, and I forgot to add the guar gum.

Or maybe chocolate coconut milk ice cream just isn’t the same.  Maybe, for once, chocolate isn’t the answer.

Either way, for now, I’m going to stick with plain and not forget the guar next time.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

