Good morning, guys!

Oh, I am chipper today.

And I don’t mean that in a Fargo sort of way.  Yuck.

Random: I love the Coen brothers.  However, that has nothing to do with my cheer, so I’m going to move on now.

I’m sleeping!

I knew exactly what I wanted for breakfast this morning: rice cake cereal.

No, not right now, you silly goose.  Though, after my tipsy post, I now realize that might make for some interesting blogging.

No, seriously, though.

I’m sleeping at night!

This is big, guys.  This is epic.

The past three out of four nights included a decent night’s sleep.  One night was just random, and I tossed and turned all night.  Fluke?  I hope so!

Blueberries and bananas came out to play. (Over the hill and far away?)

When I was at Target last week, I picked up a small fan.  He cheers me on, but not very enthusiastically.

No, no, not that kind of fan.

I don’t know if it’s the cool air blowing on my face or the white noise (I also use ear plugs, so I don’t know how much that hypothesis holds), but I’ve been sleeping rather well.

It’s not perfect (I got up to pee last night, and I’m sure you really wanted to know that) but it’s so greatly improved that I’m squee-ing with delight here.

For approaching a week old, these blueberries have been holding up nicely.

And, when I woke up this morning, I knew exactly what I wanted for breakfast.

Don’t you love that?  There’s none of that pottering, or mulling, or weighing options.

It’s just like, bam!  I want cereal!

I used a mix of almond butter and peanut butter for this bowl. Yum!

I’m so glad that I started buying almond milk at the grocery store.

To be honest, liquid calories sort of used to skeeve me out.  Back when I was a binge eater, I think I used to be addicted to syrupy drinks.

However, when I lost weight for the first time (I lost the weight in two stages, the first half in the summer before my senior year, and the second time in 2007), I did it almost completely by cutting out sodas and sugared drinks.

The rice cakes maintain their crisp, but soften up a bit in the almond milk.

Unfortunately, I developed a bad diet coke habit, one that I finally kicked just over a year ago.

Shedding the “diet” mentality has probably been the number-one integral thing to ending my binge eating.

I digress.

Since I lost the weight the first time by cutting out liquid calories, I sort of developed an anxiety about drinking my calories; I was convinced that I would regain the weight if I drank my calories instead of “saving” them for food.  Now that I don’t diet anymore, I decided that I enjoy almond milk and a few empty calories here and there make me happy.

So there.

Hit. The. Spot. Delish!

Since you’ve all been good sports about listening to me ramble and patiently waiting for my cookie recipe, I’ll share it now.  I apologize, but I did scale it down and I use weighted measurements.  I’ll attempt to translate, though.

Fudge Brownie Cookies (Adapted from King Arthur Flour):

85g confectioners sugar (appx 3/4 cup)

21g cocoa powder (appx 1/4 cup)

Dash salt

28g egg whites (appx 2 tbs, or about 1/2 egg white)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

16g chopped walnuts (to taste) (appx 2 tbs)

28g chocolate chips (to taste) (appx 2 tbs)

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Combine dry ingredients.  Stir in egg whites and vanilla, then add nuts and chocolate chips.  On a well-oiled pan, drop onto large-tablespoon sized heaps, about an inch apart.  Bake for 8-10 minutes.

I hope it works for you!  This is a small batch of cookies, but if you doubled it (probably would be easier, with my goofy 1/2 egg white up in there) there would be no harm done.  The math would probably be easier, too.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

