Evenin’!

I am, to put it succinctly, a wee bit sloshed.

On?  About four ounces of wine.

Yay for lightweights!

I wish I were kidding, but I’m not.  I seriously had half a pour, and now I’m lightheaded and giggly.

But, fortunately for you guys, my typing skills still seem intact.

Right?

Bagglers!

I started with an appetizer of three cookies, and a handful of bagglers.

What’s a baggler?

Why, it’s those fries that fall out and land in the bottom of the bag!

I’m sick, so Amor is fending for himself this week.  Alas, his options in this town aren’t the best, but hey!  I get bagglers out of it.  Win-win, right?

Naturally gluten free. The best cookies ever!

Yes, I ate three cookies before dinner.

It was that kind of day.

These are my favorite gluten-free brownie cookies.

Gluten free fudge brownie cookies. Oh boy!

There are no fancy flours or gums in it; it’s all basic pantry staples that you most likely have in your house.

For fun, I threw in walnuts and chocolate chips.

Yep, that’s how I have fun.  It works.

Soy-free, gluten-free stir fry.

After eating three cookies, I had a sudden and intense craving for vegetables.

Vegetables it was.

I grabbed my green beans and broccoli, a hunk of onion, and one lone single mushroom tumbling around in my crisper and threw them into a pan to start cooking.

Yum! Tangy-sour stir fry sauce lightly coated my stir-fry.

Of course, I chopped them before so.

Whoa, geez, Kaz.  Four ounces of wine?

Yep.  Barely a double-shot.

Whew!

Crispy almonds topped the stir-fry for a yummy crunch.

As my veggies stir-fried in my hot skillet, I whipped up a quick gluten-free, soy-free stir fry sauce.

Gluten-Free, Soy-Free Sweet and Sour Orange Stir-Fry Sauce:

Over medium heat, I combined:

1/4 cup orange juice

2 tbs rice vinegar

1 tbs ketchup

1/2 tsp ginger

1 tsp garlic

1 tsp nutritional yeast (optional, for umami)

1 tsp honey

2 tbs water

1 tsp cornstarch

Absolutely delicious. Hit the spot!

When my veggies were cooked and fork-tender, I drizzled them with hot-chili oil.

When my sauce was thick (stir constantly!), I tossed it with my stir-fried veggies.

I removed it from heat, sprinkled it with almonds, and inhaled.  This would probably taste awesome over brown rice or quinoa, but all those cookies killed my grain cravings.

Wonderful!

Funny thing is?

I totally reached into the refrigerator and pulled out what looked good and threw it into the sauce pan.

Then?

I opened a bottle of wine and found this on the label:

Almost identical to my recipe. How funny!

I promise, that is a coincidence!

I’m amused.

However, my recipe was missing wine and soy sauce.

I remedied the wine situation by pouring it in a glass, and sipping away.

The soy’s just gonna have to cope on its own.

Seriously. What you see there? That's *all* the wine I sipped.

I had a sweet tooth after dinner, and helped myself to a small dish of ice cream.

Yum, Coconut Sorbet!  And Cappuccino Swirl!

I love this stuff!

And, while I was enjoying my wine, I decided to do another round of photography with my cookies.

Texture shot. Gooey and best straight from the oven.

And another was eaten.

Hey, it’s okay!  They’re less than 70 calories each.

I really simply must give you this recipe.

I will.  Trust me.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

