Good morning, guys!

How are you?

Good?  Good.

Last night was good, too.  Oh, boy, am I embarrassed.  I didn’t make a complete fool of myself, did I?  I’m actually somewhat afraid to go back and read last night’s post, for fear of what I may find.

Wine makes me do silly things.

It also makes things like this occur:

This is the BEST ice cream ever. I know I say that a lot, but this stuff? Yes.

I had been feeling peckish and had another cookie and a pear when suddenly I decided to try out my new ice cream maker.

Oh dear.

Into the machine went an entire can of full-fat coconut milk, a half a cup of sugar (I typed coup — take heed! the sugar is revolting!…no, actually, it tastes fine, though I’m starting to think maybe there’s still some wine left in my system…?), a splash of vanilla, and a pinch of guar gum.

Bliss.

However, I didn’t need to eat 1/4 of it right before bedtime.

I couldn't tolerate a heavy breakfast this morning, so I opted for cereal instead.

Needless to say, I had no hunger whatsoever when I awoke.

Cereal was in order.

I smeared a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter and a heaping blob of almond butter onto two Lundberg rice cakes, sliced up a banana, dropped a cup of blueberries on it, drowned it in almond milk, and called it breakfast.

See the banana peeking out from the bottom layer?

It called me crazy.

We’re even.

Then, I took another taste of the coconut milk ice cream.  You know, for quality control purposes.  I can’t let Amor eat rubbish desserts, now I can I?

Rest assured, I’ll be able to inform him with confidence that his ice cream is even more superb when frozen.

I love fresh blueberries. Frozen ones just can't compete.

On a side note, I received a bit of an emotional jolt this morning.  It wasn’t bad, but it was one of those, “Whoa,” moments.

You see, a girl on Facebook found me and friended me.  I’m glad for this; she’s a super sweet girl.

Thing is?  I knew her back in high school.

She seems as nice as when I knew her back then.  That’s not the issue. The jolt, as I’ll call it, came with what I found in her photo gallery: pictures.

Pictures of me.

Pictures of me, taken ten years ago.

However, looking over those pictures, I can tell how much I’ve changed now.  I’m happy.  I’m healthy.  I am, oddly enough, nice.  I used to be hideously snide and cruel.  And, in those pictures, I was totally enveloped in my Binge-Eating Disorder.  Those pictures aren’t even at my highest weight.

The best breakfast for slightly queasy tummies.

For the past few days, I’ve been feeling a bit down.  Nothing major has occurred, but a small number of factors have definitely contributed to it.

Remember that pat of butter I ate last week?  Or how about the soy sauce I had with my sushi?  Those are the only “forbidden” things that I have eaten lately — forbidden, meaning they contain dairy, wheat, or soy.

My body did not like it, and I have the epic zit on my chin to show for it.

Plus, I’m sick, and my body is retaining water like mad to fight off the infection.  To make matters worse, I’ve been comfort eating and for me, that means too many sweets and not enough real food.

I feel bleh.

But, looking at those pictures of me, I can’t really justify feeling so glum and down on myself.  I’ve changed so much for the better in the past decade, and the occasional slip up is just a blip in the grand scheme of things.

So!  To drag myself out of my funk, I’m going to pay attention to me and what I need to make myself feel better.

To be honest, that probably involves scrubbing my bathroom from top to bottom, but hey!  We’ve all got our quirks, right?

What do you do when you’re feeling down? Please share your tips, insight, and advice, and vent if you need to!

I’ll post that cookie recipe later today, too, if anyone’s interested.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

