Rejoice, for the gluten-free shall eat French toast again!

Sorry, wait; where are my manners?

Good morning!  How are you today?  Good?  Good!

There.  The formalities are out of the way.  Let’s move on to breakfast!

See the little banana peeking out of the corner?

So, today was a bit of a miss, a bit of a hit.

The miss?

I can’t make stuffed French toast for the life of me.

And there, there's a strawberry! Sneaky little bits of fruit, aren't they?

In retrospect, I should have just been grateful that I’m given the chance to even have French toast this morning, but no.  No, I had to go and tinker around with something that was already good and go and mess it up.

Today has been a learning experience.

Lesson One: I can’t make stuffed French toast.

And together now, you can see the tiny bits of strawberry and banana peeking out.

Lesson Two: Gluten free bread really takes a shine to being bathed in eggs and then fried.

Yes, it does.  It’s like eggs and gluten free bread were meant to be.

I love it when things match up perfectly like that.  It reminds me of myself and Amor.  But, who’s the bread and who’s the egg?

Nevermind.

Strawberry banana mash is ever-so much better than syrup!

And, finally.  The lesson to end all lessons.

Lesson Three: Failed stuffed French toast makes awesome Hidden Layer French Toast!

Or, maybe I should put a moralistic twist on that.  Here, let me try that again.

Lesson Three: When faced with adversity, a positive attitude can fix any disaster!

I'm so glad I messed up my breakfast this morning.

Or, how about:

Lesson Three: Yay for Hidden Layer French Toast!

Want a recipe?  Why sure!

Hidden Layer French Toast:

1/3 cup egg whites

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

4 thinly sliced pieces of gluten free bread (or bread of choice)

2 tbs nut butter (I used cashew)

Dip bread in egg wash, and cook as you would normally prepare French toast.  Remove from heat, and smear a layer of nut butter onto one side of the bread; it will act as a glue for your fruit.  Affix a layer of thinly sliced fruit onto your bread.  Drizzle egg wash onto fruit, completely covering it, then gently place into a well-oiled hot skillet.  Mash down with your spatula (it allows for the egg wash to sorta squish around the fruit and create an even seal).  Cook for a minute or two, or until set.  Remove from heat, and enjoy!

This is serendipity at its finest. Yum!

The egg wash will cook over your fruit, sealing the fruit to your toast.  When you cut into it, you can act all surprised and go, “Oh, hey, neat!  Fruit!”

Just a note: bananas work best in this recipe.  The strawberries were a bit watery and fell apart (but maybe that’s because I didn’t slice them thinly enough), but the bananas held up nicely.  However, as you can see by the pictures, both did work, but the bananas were more successful.

I plan on trying this recipe again and experiment with techniques.  However, if you try it and have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

What is your favorite fruit? Mine’s a toss-up between bananas and pears, but it all really depends on the situation.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

