Good afternoon, guys!

How are you?  Doin’ fine?

Awesome.

Well, I tried another banana, to see if my breakfast was a fluke.

Plus, I was hungry.  A bowl of toppings does not a breakfast make.

It looks good...but was it?

Yeah, no.

That was just a bad bushel of bananas.  Gack!

I don’t know how I plan on surviving until Wednesday with yucky bananas.  This is sad.

I have some happy for you, though, if you’re interested.  Are you?

Roasted broccoli and Brussels sprouts and too much ketchup.

First, the mundane.

Look: veggies!

That was an epic pile of vegetables, by the way.  Six huge Brussels sprouts and two big heads of broccoli.  They needed their own separate plate.

And, an extra squirt of ketchup.

Seriously.

This made me extremely happy.

And now, happiness.

Dessert hummus.

I had a sweet potato.  I wanted a sweet potato.

I had chickpeas.  I wanted chickpeas.

My brain did the math.

Chickpeas + Sweet Potato = Happiness!

Oh, my. This was pure bliss.

But first, the rules.

Sweet potatoes are sweet.  They do not go with savory.  That is not allowed.

Sweet potatoes also require a creamy spread.  Generally, this spread is peanut butter.

However, today, there was a new kid in town, and he went by the name of Dessert Hummus.

This has to be the most tasty thing to ever top a sweet potato.

Want a recipe?  Sure, I got one for you.

Honey-Vanilla Cinnamon Dessert Hummus:

1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 tbs cashew butter (or nut butter of choice)

1 tsp honey

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1-2 tbs almond milk, to taste

Puree all the ingredients in your food processor, slowly adding more almond milk until the desired texture.  Cover and chill for an hour to allow the flavors to mingle.

Melty strawberry jam bumped this up a notch into Awesomeville.

I cooked my ginormous sweet potato in the microwave first for five minutes, then sliced it down the middle and roasted it at 400 F for fifteen minutes (with the Brussels and broccoli, if you were wondering).

Then, I ran my knife down the middle (lengthwise) of one of the halves, then cross-hatched it.  I stuffed it with the hummus, drizzled it with more honey and cinnamon, and inhaled.

Oh, on a whim, I put a dollop of strawberry jam on it.  Oh, yes please!

I got the sensation.

I think I’m still craving sweets because I’m tired from being sick, so after lunch, I klepto’d this York.

Want to know why I’m eating all these peppermint patties?

I blame Amor.  I blame my wonderful, giving, kind and loving man for my insane York peppermint patty indulgences.

He’s so good to me.  We go to the grocery store, and I fawn over produce, but I rationalize to myself, “Oh, I’ll never eat it in time.  It’ll just go bad.”

And this huge bowl of grapes were also eaten. At least a pound. Yum!

He says? “Oh, you can freeze whatever you can’t finish.”  I told you he was wonderful.

Four pounds of grapes?  Just freeze them!  Two pounds of blueberries?  I can freeze them!  A bag of York peppermint patties?

Oh yes.  I can most definitely freeze those, too.

You see, I have a problem with frozen foods.  If something is kept at room temperature, I can snub it.  Meh.  But, stick it in the freezer, and suddenly it becomes irresistible.  I can’t get enough of it.

So me having a bag of frozen Yorks in my freezer?

I’m in trouble.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

