Good morning, guys!

How are you?

Good?

Have you ever wondered about that sequence of small talk, like, when somebody random walks by, and you say, “Hey!  How are you?” and they’re like, “Good!  How are you?” and have you ever been just tempted to go all personal-therapist on them?

Like, “Oh, buddy, I’m not feeling so hot lately.  See, my cat ran away to live with my neighbor, I burnt my toast this morning, and I’ve got this awful rash growing on my abdomen, right here…wanna see?”

Blueberry, coconut, and almond-vanilla frosting. Yum!

Hah, I discussed rashes before even sharing one single picture with you guys!

You really are loyal.

That’s just awesome.

You know what’s not awesome?  My breakfast.  Word of warning: before you add your banana to your quinoa porridge, take a sample taste.

I'm glad the toppings were delicious, since the porridge base sorta failed on me today.

Generally, I do.

I don’t tell you guys that, since it’s generally assumed that yes, Kaz eats an entire banana with breakfast.

But, as I cook, the amazing smells wafting up tend to make me hungry, and I steal a bite or two off the banana.

Today, I had blueberries, and my attention was diverted by those instead.

I added a splash of vanilla to my almond butter sauce and it made such a difference!

Darn sneaky blueberries.  They must’ve been cohorts with the banana.

The funny thing is, last night, I was a bit peckish before bed, so I had a banana.  It tasted off — mealy and watery — so I just smeared a bit of peanut butter on it and ignored it.

Lesson learned.  Never ignore the banana.

Yum. Just, yum.

Okay, want another weird confession out of me?

Of course you do.

I have rules.  And these rules must be obeyed at all times.  Yes, I’m somewhat OCD.  Rock on.

Here’s an example: what sounds yummier, “blueberry almond” or “blueberry peanut”?

Blueberry almond for the win!

I thought so.

I have this weird mental hurdle that I cannot overcome.  I cannot, for the life of me, combine blueberries with peanut butter.  It must be with almond butter.

At.  All.  Times.

Weird rule, but it keeps me happy and sane, so I’m not complaining.

Despite my weird quirks, no OCDs were harmed in the making of this dish.

Since my porridge base was pretty ganky, I wound up eating only about half of it before throwing it away.

Rest assured, though, all of the toppings were consumed.

Somebody asked me the other day if two tablespoons of quinoa made enough eats.

That’s a very good question.

All together now.

I’m snobby enough to consider myself a bit of an artist, so when I take pictures of my food, I focus more on the “Oooh, this is pretty!” aspect of it rather than the technical part of it, wherein inquiring minds may go, “Yes, that looks nice, but what is it?”

To answer your question, yes, this does make a bounty of food.

The quinoa swells to a half cup in the initial cooking, then sometimes I have to add more water.  I cook an entire banana, another quarter-cup of liquid (the almond milk), then another quarter cup of liquid (the egg whites).  Plus, the egg whites make it voluminous and fluffy.

I would estimate that about two to three cups of food are produced from two tablespoons of dry quinoa and one tablespoon of flax.  Plus, two tablespoons dry is about 28-30 grams, which is the equivalent of using 1/3 cup of dry oats.

And, consider the toppings, too.  I dump a ton of stuff onto the porridge base.  However, by all means, increase your ratios to 1/4 cup dry quinoa!  I encourage you to experiment.  This is just a base recipe, and nothing makes me crankier than a breakfast that doesn’t hold me over, so I would be mortified to discover that you guys are going hungry and it’s all my fault!

If anybody experiments with this recipe, please let me know!  I’d be thrilled to find out what works for you, since I’m always adjusting and amending it to my own personal tastes.

Oh yes, this is what you came here for.

And, since you were so patient and made it through that epic wall of text up there, here, you deserve a reward.

How about some gluten-free quick bread?

Yeah?

Awesome.

Gluten-Free Quick Bread (Modified from Allrecipes.com):

1 1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/2 cup tapicoa starch

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1.5 tbs vinegar +

1 cup liquid (minus 1.5 tbs)

Preheat your oven to 350 F.  Combine dry ingredients.  In your measuring cup, add 1-2 tbs vinegar, then fill the cup the rest of the way with liquid to make 1 cup.  Add egg and liquid to the flour mix, and stir until combined.  Pour into a small 8-by-4 inch baking loaf.  Cook for 40-45 minutes, until done.

Smeared with peanut butter and jam. So good!

Notes: Any mild gluten-free flour should work fine.  I’ve used buckwheat flour before.  The same goes with the starch.  If you don’t have tapioca starch, I’ve used cornstarch with no problem.  The thing is: keep the weight measurements the same.  I used 235g flour and 70g starch.

And, you read this right.  This recipe does not require any gums or stabilizers.  It works fine on its own!

For my liquid, I used almond milk and rice vinegar, but I’ve used water and vinegar, too, and it worked fine.  You need the vinegar to activate the baking powder, though.  And make sure you use fresh baking powder!  I made bricks the last two tries at this.

One final thing: the loaf will be dry and crackly when you take it out of the oven.  Let it cool, and the cracks will seal.  It is a dry loaf; I need to experiment with adding in fat for texture, but jam and peanut butter fix that up right proper for now.

Also, if all you have is a 9-by-5 loaf pan, that’s fine.  It’ll will be a flatter loaf, and will require less cooking time.

Good luck and enjoy!

Do you have any weird OCD quirks? I also have to do things in multiples of five.  Like, I’ll run water for five, ten, or fifteen seconds when pouring a glass to drink.  Or, I have to stop the microwave when the last number is a 0 or a 5.  Am I weird?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

