Morning, guys.

Well, afternoon now, but believe me, that’s a good thing.

Why is that good?  Because it means that I was woken up gently at ten-thirty this morning after essentially sleeping through the night.

Yes!  I slept!

Blueberry-banana-almond pancakes. Ohhhh, yes!

Apparently the secret to a good night’s sleep is getting sick, eating too much junk food as a means of emotional healing, and slipping into a carb-coma.

I only woke up once in the night, and that to me is an epic victory.

I’m feeling better today, but I’m bummed because I have low energy and it’s such a pretty day outside.

I have mastered this recipe. Hurrah!

But, you know what makes it all better?

Pancakes.

Pancakes make anything better.  Failed an exam?  Pancakes.  Stubbed your toe?  Pancakes.  Totally messed up your first batch of pancakes and had to scrap the entire thing and start over?

Pancakes.

Each bite was coated in almond-butter glaze.

It took me two tries to master this recipe, but I can now say that I do have a fantastic go-to recipe for pancakes.

Even the Amor agreed that they are the lightest, fluffiest pancakes I’ve ever made.

However, he had cinnamon rolls for breakfast and so I vengefully slathered my cooties all over my pancakes so he couldn’t have any.

Are you drooling yet?

No, not really.

I’m not that mean.  Obviously I have an ornery streak twenty miles across, but if he wanted pancakes and cinnamon rolls, I’d happily indulge him.

Amor is great, though.  He respects my weird food experiments without judging.  Sometimes he samples my concoctions, and he’s always very warm and encouraging despite our different palates.

They're as tasty as they look.

The secret to making awesome, fluffy, gluten-free pancakes?

Two things: the liquid ratios, and the baking powder.

It’s that simple.

Thrice this week, I’ve attempted to bake a loaf of quick bread, and thrice I succeeded in making a gluten-free paper weight.

Sometimes, pancakes are exactly what I need to get me out of bed.

Finally it dawned on me that my baking powder was old.

Last night, I bought more, and today, these pancakes were made.

Not too shabby, right?

My first batch was a hideous fail, which goes to the other lesson learned.  Your liquid ratios.  You do not want to add too much liquid, no matter how much that stubborn voice in the back of your mind tries to insist, or you’ll wind up with crepes.

Crepes are good, but pancakes are ever-so much better!

Crepes can hold their own, don’t get me wrong, but today?  Nuh-uh.  I wanted pancakes.

Finally, folks.  Finally.

These are the lightest, fluffiest, moistest gluten-free pancakes I have ever tasted.  If I didn’t weigh them down with bananas, blueberries, and almond-butter glaze, they would have floated off and who knows where they might be right now?

Perhaps they’d be soaring over the ocean, or gliding over the mountains, or zooming over the plains.

These, though?  They’re in my belly, and now my tummy is smiling at me.

Check out that texture!

Ready for a recipe?  Of course you are!

Light and Fluffy Gluten-Free Pancakes:

1/4 cup gluten free flour (I used a mix of garbanzo bean and brown rice, but I’m pretty sure anything will suffice.)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup + 1 tbs egg whites

1 tsp coconut oil (I only used 1/2 — modify to taste)

Mix the flour, baking powder, sugar, and cinnamon in a small bowl.  Add oil and egg whites, and stir.  Heat and oil skillet to medium heat.  Pour 1/4 cup batter into hot pan.  When the bubble in the center pops, flip.  Slather in almond butter sauce and fruit of choice.  Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

