Greetings this afternoon, ya’ll!

Fact: I was born and raised in the South and have never once uttered the word “ya’ll” in context.  Southern fail.

Whew!  I am so tired this afternoon.

Why’s that?

You got me beat.  I think my body got a sample of what decent sleep looks like last night, and now it’s craving more.

Or, maybe it’s because I’ve been working my little hamster off.

When I saw these at the grocery store last night, I knew I'd have to integrate them into my lunch today.

Pray tell, where exactly on the human body is the hamster?

No idea.  But, mine was worked off, so you won’t find one here.

I’m proud to say that there are only two rooms left in this house that aren’t fit for another human being to see.  And, no, I don’t count the garage.

Southern food at its finest.

The garage will never be cleaned, period.

I still need to sweep the entire house, and my bathroom needs some touch-up work, and the kitchen is never truly clean, but if somebody spontaneously dropped by, I wouldn’t be mortified to let them in.

Maybe.

The age old classic Red Beans n' Rice, but with a quinoa twist!

Enough about my house.  I’ve been quite productive today, for which I am very pleased, albeit worn out.

I waited too long to eat lunch, and by the time I actually wandered into the kitchen, I was near-about ready to eat my arm.

However,  I have no tried and true recipes for human arm, so I instead elected to go with my gut.

Perfectly roasted broccoli trees, to be later dipped in ketchup and mustard.

No, no, no.  I didn’t eat my gut, though I was pretty sure at this point it was trying to eat itself.  I went with my gut, which was telling me that I was craving beans like nobody’s business.

Except, maybe, it’s my business.  And since you’re reading this, it’s your business, too.

So, I was craving beans like it was everybody’s business.  There? Satisfied?

The veggies are a match made in heaven. I love "dipper" vegetables.

Like a true Southern gal, I wanted red beans and rice, but since I already had rice for breakfast, I decided to branch out and try my beans on quinoa.

Clever, right?  I know.

I cooked up a serving of quinoa while a heaping pile of broccoli and brussels sprouts roasted in my 400 F (convection) oven.

All in all, a delightful feast to satisfy a hungry tummy.

Yes, I cooked them for thirteen minutes.

Do I really need to go there again?  Thirteen is a wonderful number.  No superstition allowed here on this blog.

Knock on wood.

I cooked a huge hunk of green bell pepper with one cup of beans (rinsed), and when the quinoa and veggies were ready, I plated them and piled the beans onto the quinoa.

First I wanted a peach. Then I wanted grapes. Then I spotted this pear and knew what I really craved.

I topped the red beans with a half a medium chopped tomato and dug in.

Perfect!  So good.

However, I had waited too long to eat, and I was so daggum tired, that dessert was imperative.

The pear was perfectly ripe and juicy, but still I was craving more sugar.

Almond Dream, Coconut Sorbet, and two pieces of chocolate. Hit the spot!

And, looking back, my lunch was abysmally low in fat.

Yes, dessert was a must.

I piled a ramekin high with my favorite Coconut Sorbet and a scoop of Cappuccino Swirl Almond Dream (also very good!) and topped it off with two pieces of Alter Eco Dark Chocolate Almond.

Now I’m happily sated, but I’m thinking hard about a nap.

What’s your favorite traditional or regional food? Being from the south, I love just about anything that involves beans and cornbread.  Yum!

Thanks for reading, each and every one of you!  (By the way, I hit a new record on page views — if you’re out there, please please please feel free to say hello!  You’ll delight me like nothing else!)

❤ Kaz

