Good morning, guys!

It is so nice out today.  I have my window open, and my neighbor is mowing his lawn, so a cool breeze is blowing that fresh-cut-grass scent right into my room.

While I have no “outdoor” chores planned today, I might just find a reason to go out there.  When the sun is shining in the Pacific Northwest, you make excuses to get outside.

This morning, I woke up with a very grumbly tummy.  I had originally planned on making some banana pancakes with those walnuts I picked up last night at the grocery store, but my stomach would not wait.

Looks familiar? Just you wait. I had something up my sleeves this morning.

I quickly decided on a bowl of cereal and pulled out the familiar ingredients: brown rice cakes, peanut butter, banana, almond milk.

I smeared a generous glob of peanut butter onto each rice cake, then threw them into my bowl.

No, seriously.  I threw them.  One broke.  If you look closely at the pictures, you’ll be able to see which one.

I had a little helper with breakfast this morning. He was absurdly fascinated with what I was doing.

This morning, I used one of my hearty, dense Lundberg rice cakes and a lightly salted fluffy Quaker one.

Just like last time, I placed the heavier rice cake on the bottom and balanced the fluffy one on top.

However, unlike last time, I didn’t use an apple-cinnamon rice cake.  I used a plain one.

The star of the show! Peanut Butter Pandas graced the breakfast today.

Why?

Because, they’d mask the taste of the Peanut Butter Pandas, of course!

(Just a reminder, I buy all these products; nobody gave me any free food.  Jerks.)

Eating my favorite foods first thing in the morning makes me happy.

I poured a generous half-cup of Panda Puffs over my peanut-buttery rice cakes.

Mmm.  Yum.

Then, I poured almond milk sorta haphazardly all over the bowl.  You want enough to allow for the rice cakes to soften up, and just enough surplus to be able to slurp up the peanut buttery milk afterward.

Bananas, brown rice cakes, peanut butter, Peanut Butter Panda Puffs, and almond milk.

By the way, I just typed “slurplus” there when I was trying to type “surplus”.

Don’t you love portmanteau?

Also, I’m totally gonna copyright that word.  Slurplus: noun.  The excess milk remaining in your cereal bowl that absorbs all the flavor of your cereal, to be slurped noisily after finishing your breakfast.

Hey, I invented it.  It’s my prerogative.

The breakfast of awesomeness.

Generally, I don’t wake up hungry.  My stomach tends to be a bit “off” and it takes me about a half hour to work up a decent-sized hunger to permit me to attack my breakfast with voracious appreciation.

However, yesterday, my sister asked me if it was “okay” to eat late at night, like, for instance, right before bedtime.

Right way, I told her yes; for weight-loss purposes, eating a bedtime snack will not hinder the process.  I do it all the time, and I’m reasonably slim.

I will definitely be making this again!

Then, I repeated back to myself what I said.

It dawned on me that eating a bedtime snack is a fairly new phenomenon.  And, so is my insomnia.

I put two and two together.  Perhaps my late-night thirst is driven by something to quench my dry mouth after my snack?

Maybe I can’t sleep, because my tummy is spending the entire night trying to digest heavy eats when it should be relaxing.

Maybe that’s why I never wake up hungry.

Last night, I had a lighter snack of just a rice cake and jam, and while I can’t say that my sleep wasn’t entirely restless, it was the best rest I had in a long while.

Plus, I didn’t wake up a thousand times to go pee.

To me, that’s a win.  I’m going to experiment with smaller snacks at bedtime.  I don’t want to give them up; eating right before I sleep is very comforting.  I really do hope this helps.

Do you snack at night?  What’s your favorite snack, nighttime or anytime?

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

