Hey guys!

Sorry for being AWOL all afternoon, but I had a house to clean.  You see, I had a guest over for dinner tonight.

Remember my new friend?  Well, I spontaneously invited her over for dinner, and was thrilled when she accepted my invitation!

Yay!

I was STUH-arving and ate this in less than a minute.

Then panic set in.  Omg, I gotta make dinner.  Omg, I need to mop.  Omg, the house is a pigsty.  Omg, I still need to make laundry.

Stop.  Calm.  Breathe.

I threw my sister’s chili in the crock-pot, scrubbed the house from top to bottom, and was done just in time to catch Cupcake Wars on Food Network.

Busy, successful afternoon WIN!

Whole fried egg, almond butter, and leftover sweet potato pancake.

Backtracking to lunch, here.  My hunger hit me like a ton of bricks, and I almost couldn’t bear to cook anything, I was that famished.

I quickly fried a whole egg and threw it on a leftover sweet potato pancake from yesterday smeared with almond butter.

Guys, that it was really good.  I mean, really, really good.

I was so hungry, I started eating before snapping the picture. Oops!

Don’t gag.  Do you put eggs in your pancakes?  Then put one on top.  Same difference, right?

Oh, stop complaining and just do it.  You’ll thank me later, I’m sure of it.

The almond butter put it over the top into pure awesomeville.  Definitely try it!

As my sister’s chili simmered away in the crock-pot, I cleaned the house.  Funny thing is, my friend was just here yesterday and I didn’t mind having a less-than-immaculate house.

These guys dove into the crock-pot to make an amazing chili.

But yesterday, she just was over for ice cream.

Today, she was a dinner guest.  It’s different.

Anyway, I don’t have much in the way of recipes for you tonight.  My cookies failed, my corn bread failed.

The chili, however, turned out great!

However, tonight is going to be very picture-heavy.  You see, my friend is an artist and takes beautiful pictures.  She followed me around this afternoon, snapping photographs of just about everything.

I’m very grateful for her help, and was thrilled to let her take charge.  Something like 99% of these pictures are hers, but I’m not sure which are which.  They all turned out beautifully, and it was hard to narrow it down.

Enjoy!

My friend's amazing cucumber-tomato-bell pepper-avocado salad.

Even though I messed these cookies up, they still wound up tasting like fudge. Yum!

Melty chocolate chip shot. So good!

Do NOT substitute garbanzo bean flour in your cornbread recipes. Ugh, it tasted awful.

It looked so promising!

My friend brought these gluten-free cookies over for me. She's so sweet!

She also came over bearing this gift of chocolate. So good! Thanks, my friend!

My friend artfully arranged the avocado and cornbread atop the chili. She has an artist's eye, doesn't she?

Alas, the cornbread wasn't that good. Sorry!

On the other hand, this chili turned out so well! Everyone loved it.

Once I smashed the cornbread into the chili, it didn't taste as awful, but I won't be making it again.

My friend also brought over this perfectly ripe avocado to share. She spoils me!

Cornbread of DOOM!

Mmm, texture shot. I'll have the recipe up soon!

My friend's salad again. I think I ate most of it!

The gluten-free cookies my friend shared with me. They were pretty yummy!

That’s it for tonight, guys.  I’m worn out and just thoroughly exhausted from cleaning all day.

I’ll have that chili recipe up tomorrow, if anyone’s interested.  Even my Amor enjoyed it, and that’s saying quite a bit!

Thanks so much for reading!

❤ Kaz

