Oh, guys.

Ohhhh, guys.

I have failed you.  I have failed you seriously wrong awful bad.

You know how I’ve been all like, “Omg, try my quinoa porridge, it’s teh awesome!”

All this time, I’ve been doing it wrong.

I’m so ashamed.  Mortified.  Penitent.

How can I ever redeem myself?

Fluffy, melty drifts of yumminess.

I know.  I’ll tell you how to make it, and make it right.

Another quick apology: my pictures are rubbish today.  I don’t know what I did wrong.  Maybe in my appalled haze at my misdeeds, I forgot to turn on my  macro lens.

Or, maybe it’s just hard to take pretty pictures of amorphous beige blobs.  Who knows?

I love how the peanut butter melts over the porridge.

I only made on slight change to my recipe, but it made a world of difference.

Please heed my warning, and avoid the shame that I now suffer.

Do not cook this in the microwave!

Yes, it’s that simple.  Do not nuke, pass go, or collect two hundred dollars.

However, if you make this right, you’ll melt into a little pile of happy, not unlike the peanut butter dripping down and pooling in this warm, fluffy, delicious banana porridge.

This was so very tasty. Please make it for breakfast soon!

I made this entirely on the stove top.  Remember the basic cooking process on these?

Want a refresher course?

Sure.

In a small saucepan, bring 2 tbs dry quinoa and 1/2 cup water to a boil.  Once boiling, cover, and reduce the heat to simmer and cook for thirteen minutes.

I used a scant amount of honey, but it made the natural sweetness of the porridge shine through.

Thirteen.

You don’t have triskaidekaphobia, do you?  Psh, there’s no room for scaredy cats in the culinary world.

However, if you must, let it simmer for twelve minutes and fifty-nine seconds.  Whatever sets your mind at ease.

Once your quinoa is cooked, add in your banana and increase the heat to medium-high.  Smoosh your banana until it has melted into the quinoa, maybe a minute or two.

Add in 1/4 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, and 1 teaspoon blackstrap molasses.  Stir, then throw in 1/4 cup almond milk and 1 tbs milled flaxseed.

Despite being an ugly picture, this was my best bowl of porridge yet. Mmm!

Stir until creamy, a minute or so.

Reduce the heat back to low, and slowly stir in your eggs.  Just adding the eggs should take you the better part of a minute.  Stir another minute, until porridge resembles a delicious custard.

Increase the heat to high, stir for another thirty seconds.

Remove from heat, and pour into your bowl.  Top with 2 tbs peanut butter, honey, or toppings of your choice.

Ready for that in recipe form?

Sure ya are.

Peanut Butter Banana Quinoa Porridge:

2 tbs dry quinoa

1/2 cup water

1 whole banana

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp blackstrap molasses

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup almond milk

1 tbs milled flaxseed

1/4 cup egg whites

2 tbs peanut butter

1-2 tsp honey, to taste

Cook quinoa, add banana.  Let it return to a boil, and stir/mash the banana until fully incorporated into porridge.  Reduce heat, and add in cinnamon, blackstrap molasses, and vanilla.  Add almond milk and flax, and stir until creamy.  Slowly add in egg whites, and stir until fluffy.  Increase heat for a half minute, stir.  Remove from heat, top with peanut butter and honey.

Indulge.

Best.  Breakfast. Ever.  Plus, you go from hungry to sated in less than twenty minutes.  Can’t beat that, right?

Right!

You love me again, don’t you?  You forgive me for my transgressions?

I knew you would.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

