Good morning, everyone!

Hey, by the way, if you’ve found my blog through some way or another, don’t be shy!  Leave a comment.  You don’t have to be a blogger.  I won’t judge.  Say hello and you will make my day.

Kid you not.  You say hi, and I’ll beam from ear to ear.

Try it.  It’s cool, like a magic trick.  Hey, guys, I figured out how to make Kaz grin.  Look!  Ohhh, dude…that’s so cool!

See?

Just like magic.

Today is off to a great start.  I may have figured out my insomnia issues: sunlight streaming in through my window.  Our black-out blinds aren’t perfect, so I may fashion an eye-shade or something to help with the issue.

Finally! Sweet potato pancakes, at your service.

My appetite was still a bit off this morning (I’m sure it had absolutely nothing to do with the apricot and handful of grapes I snarfed before crawling into bed), so while I waited for my hunger to kick in, I tackled some chores.

I loaded the dishwasher, scrubbed the sink (it desperately needed it…yuck!) and started a load of laundry.

Something about being elbow-deep in sink grime really made me famished.

Say what?

Sure, all the cool kids get hungry when scraping old rice off the side of their kitchen sink, didn’t you know that?

I covered them in an almond-butter-honey glaze. Delish!

The feeling of success and accomplishment (yay!  so many chores done before I’ve had my morning tea!) and the gnawing in my gut inspired me to attempt my sweet potato pancakes one more time.

You may remember when I hinted at my last failed attempt at making these.  I was a wee bit cross that morning.  However, in the effort, I realized my mistake.

When baking gluten free goods, you need a binder to hold the batter together.  Gluten tends to do that for you, but since my body seems to hate gluten, you need to use something else.

I was so excited about my success, I failed to take a picture before pouring my "syrup" onto them. Sorry!

This recipe is great because it calls for reasonably common ingredients.  I didn’t want to use any fancy gums (by which I mean guar or xanthan, not Trident or Bubble Yum) because most people do not have access to fancy-schmancy-pants ingredients.

In this case, the egg whites act as the binder and hold the ‘cakes together.

Clever, right?

I thought so.

The neat thing about this recipe, other than how it bears a striking resemblance to pie (Homer voice: Mmm, pie!), is how much it resembles real pancakes.

Are you drooling yet? 'Cuz, I am.

That is, if real pancakes tasted like pie.

My sister taught me how to make pancakes, believe it or not.  While most of my childhood revolved around me hovering in the kitchen with my mum and assisting her in her baking adventures (my family has an epic sweet tooth), it was my sister who gave me the best advice on how to make perfect pancakes.

I never forgot it.

You know how when you pour your batter into the pan, all those lovely little bubbles crop up around the perimeter of the pancake?

Amazing. Simply amazing.

Write this down, because you don’t want to forget it.

When that bubble in the middle of your pancake pops, your pancake is ready to be flipped.

That’s it.  That’s the secret to perfectly cooked pancakes.

Simple, right?

Good.

Ready for the recipe?

Rock on.

Best pancakes ever! I'm so glad I gave them another go.

Sweet Potato Pie Pancakes (Gluten-free):

1/2 medium sweet potato, peeled and mashed (100 grams or so, pre-cooked weight)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp cloves

dash nutmeg

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 T brown rice flour (may sub in cornstarch)

1/2 cup egg whites

1 tsp coconut oil

Puree all ingredients in your blender (I used my immersion blender).  Preheat your skillet to medium-low heat.  When it’s ready, oil your pan.

Pour 1/3 cup batter onto your skillet.  When the bubble in the middle pops, flip the pancake.  Repeat.  Should make three medium-large pancakes.

Smear glaze all over pancakes, and smother in bananas.  Or pears.  Or apples.  Or berries.  It’s all good.

Almond-Butter Honey Glaze:

2 tbs almond butter

2 tbs almond milk (or non-dairy milk of your choosing)

1/2 tbs honey (to taste)

Place in microwave safe bowl (I used a ramekin) and nuke for 10 seconds.  Stir like mad, until fluffy and creamy.  Pour onto pancakes, take a bite, and if you die right then, you will die happy.

Healthful and delicious? Bring. It.

One small warning: these were moist and fluffy and amazing, but I accidentally added too much egg white to the mix.

Hey, I have a heavy hand.  I can’t help it.  It’s a genetic deformity.

Start with 2/5 of a cup of egg whites for a denser, more-pancake-esque consistency, though 1/2 cup should be fine.  Mine turned out a bit crepe-y (NOT crappy, c’mon, guys), but then again, I added about a tablespoon or two too much.

Oh, and a shout-out to the kid brother, who gently reminded me that pancakes do need a bit of fat for texture and taste.  He’s 100% right.  I’m glad I added it.

Thanks for reading!  I hope you enjoy this recipe!

❤ Kaz

