Whew, glad I got out there when I did!  Not even a half hour after I finished mowing my lawn, the clouds rolled in and the wind picked up.  It’s threatening rain, now, and the air has a chilly bite.

I know it sounds silly, but I really enjoyed getting outside today, even if it was only to mow the lawn.  The air was warm (felt like it was at least 70 degrees out) and a mild breeze circulated, cooling some of the sweat that had cropped up on my shoulders.

Yeah, I sweated.  Imagine that!  Lazy bum ol’ me, outside working up a sweat.

You see, other than getting the chance to enjoy the nice weather, I also consider my “workout” for the day complete.

These made an appearance in my lunch today.

Yep.  I’m lazy.

Actually, I’m a firm believer in NEAT.

Which is funny, actually, because I tend to be a bit messy and chaotic.

What, exactly, is NEAT?  Basically, it stands for Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis.  It’s any and every activity you do in a day that counts toward your calorie burn, pretty much.

Leftovers taste just as good, if not better, than their first appearance.

For instance, if you have a rambunctious three-year-old and you spend all day chasing him around the house, most likely you’re pretty active.  In my case, I worked up a sweat and felt the burn in my legs from the forty-five minutes I spent outside taking care of the yard.

At least, this is how I justify sitting on my bum all day, eating and blogging.

Other “activities” I do on a daily basis include cooking and cleaning.  Ever since going gluten-free, I’ve had energy through the roof.  I’ve also never seen my house quite so clean.

Chickpeas need no seasoning. They're nutty and yum on their own.

I’m also known to break a sweat while sweeping and mopping, breaking into song and dance while stirring over the stove, and I’m obsessive about keeping up with the dishes.

When I do laundry, I deliberately take multiple trips.

Hardcore, for real.

After I finished mowing the lawn, I came back in and pounded a glass of water.  My appetite was ready for lunch, so I quickly pulled together an array of leftovers.

No runny yolks for me. Gack!

I chopped and roasted some broccoli and Brussels sprouts.  While those cooked, I reheated some leftover chickpeas and the last of my steak fries from the other night.

A cold fry disappeared into my mouth before I could snap these pictures, but I assure you, they actually did taste better at fridge-temp than warmed up.

Strange.  Just like me.

I also fried up an organic egg.  I was craving protein like mad.

Oops, burnt it a bit. Ketchup made it all better.

A word about the eggs I bought.  They’re organic.

Yes, I know I josh and poke fun at myself for being pretentious and buying organics, but buying organic eggs is something I’m extremely firm about.  I will not buy conventional eggs, period.

I can’t tell you if organic eggs taste better, or fresher, or are better for you.  But, it’s better for the chickens, and that’s all that matters to me.  I’m very passionately against factory farming, and the conditions these chickens have to endure in order to make cheap, conventional eggs available to the public…

The extra couple dollars is worth it.  If you look at it, you’re still only paying about thirty cents each per egg.  A complete steal, if you ask me.

This ripe and juicy peach made an appearance for dessert.

/steps off soapbox

Sorry.  I didn’t mean to get preachy at you.  I’m not against eating meat.  I don’t think it’s bad, bad for you, or people who eat it are bad.  It’s just not for me.

Besides, if you’re gonna eat meat, spring for the good stuff.  Grass-fed tastes so much better.

At least, that’s what my pre-vegetarian me reminds me of every time I smell somebody grilling.

Speaking of grilling, my Amor is firing up the barbecue tonight.  I’m not sure what I’m going to have for dinner, because nothing I eat really can be thrown on a grill.

Any suggestions?

Are there any foods that you insist on buying organic? I try to buy the items off the “dirty dozen” list organically, but sometimes I can’t justify the cost.  However, I will not budge on the eggs.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

