Good morning!

Er…afternoon?

I almost got a good night’s sleep last night.  Almost.  I slept hard for the first half of the night, and vaguely recall a mental “Yay!” when I awoke the first time and the first hint of dawn was peeking through the curtains…but after that?  Not so much.  After that first wake-up, I had perhaps another five or six wake-ups after that.

Hey, at least I wasn’t up all night peeing.  Too much salt before bedtime does that to you, I suppose.

Me: 1

Bladder: 5 bajillion

That’s right, I’m evening out the odds.  I’m getting there.  Slow and steady and all that, it wins the race.

Quinoa porridge is arguably the best breakfast EVER.

I want to apologize for the rubbish photographs today.  While it’s another beautiful morning, full of sunshine and cool breezes, evidently none of that daylight could drag itself off its lazy bum and come in through my window and grace my breakfast with its glory.

Greedy sun.

I used my typical quinoa porridge base, but left out the fruit.  Instead,  I elected to pile the fruit on top of the porridge.

Yikes, bad lighting. Nevermind, it still tasted amazing.

Bold choice, right?

Good choice.

The blueberries sort of melted into the almond milk, and before long, the almond milk had taken on a murky, dishwater grey hue (or, for the optimists out there, it was a lovely slate blue, like the color of the sky over the ocean on a stormy day).  Nevertheless, it became this delicious blueberry-honey flavored milk, and you bet I slurped up every last sip.

The coconut added an extra hint of sweetness. So good!

I caramelized my almonds like I had done before, and with the natural sweetness of the blueberries, bananas, and coconut, each bite was a bit of euphoria in my mouth.

Who needs candy when this is on the menu?

In this topping mix, I used:

1/2 cup frozen blueberries

1 very small banana

3 heaping tbs sliced almonds

2 tsp honey (to coat almonds)

1 tbs sweetened coconut

1/2 cup almond milk (give or take)

Definitely try this combo!

Last weekend, I awoke to gloom and overcast skies.

Today, sunshine!

That means only one thing: it’s time to mow the lawn.

Wish me luck.  It’s seriously a jungle out there.  I wish I could snap a picture to show you, but, you guessed it, the camera’s battery is exhausted.

This time, it’s entirely my fault.

Yikes.

One of my favorite breakfasts, for sure!

Okay!  Headed out into the jungle.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

