Good morning!

Wow.  Gorgeous day out.  The wind’s a bit fierce, but the sun is shining and I have a feeling it’s going to break 60 degrees today.

Unfortunately, I’ll be crammed inside my little fishbowl today — aka, the office — but I love my boss and don’t mind working.  However, that means I’m going to be a bit stingy with the recipes today.  I have an idea for a quick, healthy, tasty lunch that I can’t wait to share with you, though, but first: breakfast.

I wasn’t hungry when I woke up, so I pottered around, prepared my tea (a weak brew of Chai Spice) and unloaded the dishwasher.  I had conceded to making a quick blog post along the vein of, “Sorry, guys, not hungry.  I had rice cake and peanut butter today!” but out of nowhere my hunger punched me in the gut.  Oomph!

And so I became hungry.

This is a apple-cinnamon "diet" rice cake. Diet food or no, it still tasted good!

I decided to whip up a simple breakfast that I conjured up when I was visiting in Minnesota a little over a week ago.

My wonderful Amor understands my food intolerances, and as soon as we landed in the Twin Cities, he whisked me off to the nearest Cub Foods and told me to pick out whatever I liked so I’d be able to eat that weekend.  After stocking up on fresh fruits and veggies (Amor was great: “Hey, Kaz, did you see that they have blueberries?” and “Hey, look, pears!”) I made a beeline for the gluten-free foods.

Ouch.  Sticker shock times a thousand.

These are the thick, hearty rice cakes that I love. See how they're denser and not as fluffy as the apple-cinnamon ones?

After groping a loaf of gluten-free bread and trying to justify its $6 price tag (to myself, not Amor; he encouraged me to have whatever I wanted), I spotted an innocuous spool of brown rice cakes.  The ingredients were simple: Brown rice, salt.  Plus, they were less than half the price of the loaf of gluten-free bread.  I was sold!

A jar of peanut butter and a carton of almond milk found its way into our cart, and I went home, content in knowing that I wouldn’t starve to death on this trip.

Come the next morning, I realized I actually wanted a bowl of cereal and realized I had failed to pick up a box of gluten-free breakfast cereal.  Since I can no longer eat oats, that wasn’t an option.  Rice cakes to the rescue!

Be generous with the peanut butter -- you can't have too much!

You know how some food bloggers will add a blob of peanut butter to their Kashi or bran flakes, for “staying power”?  I always wondered about the schematics of that.  How does it work?  Does it melt into the milk?  Or, do they chase down little nut-butter globules with their spoon and try to score a bit with each bite?

Well, this breakfast ensures that each and every bite has a creamy, gooey layer of peanut butter in it.

Ready for this?

Of course you are.

You know how dogs seek out new smells and then roll in it? I want to roll in this peanut butter.

This is simple.  Simple, simple, simple.  I’m almost embarrassed to share it with you, but since I’ve readily shared my failures, it’s about time I share a win.

Take two rice cakes, and slather them with peanut butter.

Whoa, Kaz.  Back up there!  This is too complicated!  I can’t handle all of this.

Okay, okay.  Fine.

I used one of the thick, hearty Lundberg rice cakes and a sweet, yet flimsy Quaker Apple-Cinnamon rice cake.  You know how when you add your Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bombs to your bowl, then add milk, the milk gets all sugar-sweet and yummy when you slurp it up after you finish cereal? (C’mon, I can’t be the only one who does that.)

Smear that peanut butter onto the cakes, then lick the knife clean. Then, dip the knife in the peanut butter and do it again.

That’s what the Quaker rice cake was for.

They’re not all bad, the Quaker cakes.  I can pronounce all the ingredients, and it’s mostly all-natural, and they were cheap at the grocery store.  Plus, they taste good.

Slather a thick layer of peanut butter onto your rice cakes.  Don’t be miserly with your peanut butter!  It’s your fat+protein for breakfast.  Besides, it tastes great.

Place your rice cakes into your cereal bowl, then grab a banana.

I am a peanut butter banana fiend, and I'm not afraid to admit it.

Slice your banana into medallions over your peanut-buttery rice cakes.

Yes, you can lick your knife again.  Mmm, banana mush.  Why does everything seem to taste better when eaten off a knife?

Use a butter knife, people.  I don’t want to hear any complaints about lost tongues from people licking peanut butter and bananas off santoku knives.

Oh, almost forgot.  If you use a light, fluffy rice cake and pair it up with a heartier one, place the heartier one on the bottom.  By the time you eat your way through the fluffier rice cake, the heartier one will have soaked up most of the (cinnamon sugary!) almond milk.  Besides, the airer rice cake would just get soggy if you placed it on the bottom.

This is one of the easiest, tastiest breakfasts ever.

Add your milk.

Voilà!  Done!

I can’t emphasize how awesome this is.  Each and every bite gets a bit of the peanut butter, so you don’t have to stalk floating nut-butter chunks (sorry!  I really out to eschew that word from my vocabulary) around your bowl.

Use your spoon to stab and break your rice cakes down into bite-sized pieces, and make sure each bite also has a piece of banana.  That way, your tummy will smile at you for the rest of the morning.

Yes, I'm obsessed with my blue bowls. You'd think I don't own any others, the way I feature them here.

This meal is easy, quick, and best of all, cheap.  You don’t need to buy any fancy-pants gluten free cereals (though I’m known to have a favorite or two) and you can rest assured that you’ve just enjoyed a healthy, well-balanced breakfast that’ll stick to your ribs.

I wonder where the phrase “stick to your ribs” came from?  I can picture sticky little clusters of peanut butter lining my lungs and rib cage.  It’s sort of disturbing, actually.

This picture made me laugh. Having the almond-milk carton in there was a fluke, but it looks so darn pretentious with its little USDA organic logo.

I’m not going to do a recap or a recipe here, since that would be just plain insulting.  We all know how to slather peanut butter onto rice cakes, dump them into a bowl, and add milk and bananas, don’t we?

Oops.  Was that a recipe?  My bad.

Sorry.

I’m hoping to have a thorough lunch post available to you, but if not, I hope to at least post pictures and follow up with a recipe.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

