I know that sounds like a reach, but I think I made the best marinara sauce ever.

Too bad I didn’t make enough.  And too bad I dumped it on veggies that simply did not complement the meal.

Lunch kept me full for hours today, but I still got snacky and craved something sweet.  I prepared a bowl of some blueberries that were almost past their prime, some red grapes that had nodding acquaintance with the bloobs, and some green grapes I picked up last night at the grocery store.

Mmm, little bubbles of sweet.

They were delicious.  I love grapes.  And pears.  And bananas.  And…basically all fruit, really.

Since they were so good, how about an encore?

To be honest, I couldn't choose between these two pictures, so both win.

I knew you’d appreciate it.  You know me so well.

Okay, I hate to admit it again, but dinner was sort of a bust.  Yeah, again.  Yeah, I know.  Gah.  This is so embarrassing!

The thing is, I know where I went wrong.  Vegetables.

Yes.  Those stinky little buggers.

I added kale to the mix when it had no right being there.  I’ve had kale before — sauteed with beans and tomatoes — but for some reason, tonight, it turned out wrong.  Wrong on so many levels.  I actually cursed audibly at myself, because my marinara turned out excellent and was wasted on a pile of ungrateful kale.

This marinara tasted fresh, and the herbs were fragrant but not overwhelming.  Delicious.  The kale was not.

Except for the kale, this was tasty!

On the other hand, the broccoli was fine, but I added waaay too much.  There wasn’t enough sauce to go around.  When you recreate this recipe (there is no ‘if’) be sure to use about half the broccoli I used.  I used something like 2 servings, plus the kale.  It was a green overload.  My poor palate couldn’t handle it.

But when I tell you this is the best marinara ever, trust me.  You may wonder why you should trust me.  Have I ever lied to you before?  I mean, every mistake I make, I ‘fess up to, do I not?  I do.  Even though my blog is heavily weighed down by an excessive bounty of misses, I’ve admitted to them.

Therefore, when I do something right, it means I’ve done it right.

Make this sauce.

See? Not enough sauce. Definitely needed more.

Everything else was great.  The beans were savory and cooked just right, and the gluten-free elbows were also boiled to perfection.  The flavors worked, mingling together in a harmonious accord.  If only were it not for those meddling (kids?) vegetables!

When you make this, I also suggest butter beans or cannellini beans over black-eyed peas.  However, I used what I had, and so ought you.

In your food processor, add 1.5 medium tomatoes, 2 tbs onion, 1 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp dried basil, and a pinch each of rosemary and thyme (where did parsley and sage go?).  Pulse until pureed.

Preheat a skillet while you give those veggies a whirl.  Add a drizzle of EVOO to your pan. (I forgot, but fat makes everything better.)  Pour your tomato goop into your pan, and reduce the heat to medium.

Nevermind those vegetables. Just make this sauce!

Stir the sauce steadily until most of the liquid evaporates off.  It should be slightly thickened, but not pasty.

Edward Cullen is pasty.

This sauce is thick.

If thick means dense, then I’d relent that Edward Cullen is that, too.

Can you tell I’m not a Twilight fan?

Sorry.  I got distracted.  Where were we?

Oh yes.  Thick.

Sauce. Just focus on the sauce.

Add several cracks of fresh ground black pepper and 1/2 tsp of garlic.  Stir, then add 1 tbs balsamic vinegar.

Remember earlier, when I bashed balsamic vinaigrette?  That’s on a salad.  This is in marinara sauce.  It’s different.  Besides, you need a bit of acid to balance out the sweetness of the tomatoes.  Or something like that.

I randomly make stuff up sometimes.  Facts, schmacts.

Stir another minute, then transfer to your piping hot noodles, and DO NOT ADD KALE.

Emphasis added.

Even the pictures couldn't redeem this mess, alas.

How about a recipe?  I’m so glad you asked! (Psh, I knew you would.)

Fresh Marinara Sauce:

1 1/2 medium-sized tomatoes

2 tbs onion, roughly chopped

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried basil

Pinch thyme

Pinch rosemary (but don’t pinch too hard, poor gal)

1/2 tsp minced garlic

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

Fresh cracked black pepper

Puree first six ingredients in your food processor, then add to a skillet.  Stir over medium heat until thickened, then add garlic and balsamic vinegar.  Transfer to noodles and add fresh cracked pepper.

Enjoy!

The disappointment of my dinner led me to my hanging fruit basket (anyone else have one of those?  I love mine!) and I foraged up a pear.

It bowed down humbly before me.

As usual, it was perfectly ripe, juicy, and sweet.

For how much I generally enjoy vegetables, I LOVE fruit.  Love it.  I could eat it all day and never grow bored of it.  Matter of fact, about 75% of my grocery bill yesterday was all fruit.

How embarrassing.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

Update:

I still wasn’t satisfied, so I ate three dates stuffed with peanut butter.  I think this is my new favorite “candy”.  Highly recommended!

(Oh, and I also had a handful of grapes, and stole a few of my Amor’s cherries.  I was hungry, therefore, I ate.  It’s that simple.)

