One of my favorite food philosophies is this: “Eat dessert first.”  Evidently this quote is attributed to a gent named Ernestine Ulmer, and I think I’ll have to agree with him wholeheartedly.

In learning how to IE (intuitively eat), I’ve had to shed the old “save the best for last” mentality and embrace my inner hunger beast.  I used to force myself to clean my plate, and as incentive, I’d save the best part for last.  I’d pick at my vegetables then dive head first into my peanut butter, or eat around the custard filling in my pie, then finally inhale it.

Mmm, custard.

I love custard.  You know what’s better than custard, though?  Custard for breakfast.

Life is uncertain.  Eat dessert first.

You can’t get any more “first” than breakfast.

So, I ate custard for breakfast.

But, not just any custard.  Chocolate peanut butter custard.  With bananas.  Mmm.  Drooling yet?

You want to know the hardest part about being a food blogger?  Waiting until you’ve snapped enough pictures before diving head first into a bowl of awesome.

And this bowl, my friends, was THE awesome.

Sorry, the lighting is a bit off here. Still. PUDDING.

Plus, it was super easy to make.  It took me all of five minutes.

You know how some people will healthify (yes, I’m making up words here) something, then slap the word “breakfast” on it to justify it tasting like rubbish?  For example, “Breakfast Cookies.”  They take all the yum out of it, reduce the flavor by 1000% percent, then say, “It’s okay.  They’re breakfast cookies.”

This, my friends, is NOT breakfast pudding*.

It’s pudding.  Plain and simple.  I’d eat it for dessert, rub my belly, and smile.  It’s THAT good.

I could bathe in this.

The only sneaky thing I did is up the nutritional profile, but that’s not a bad thing.  That only changed my phaser from “stunning” to “killer”.

Ready for this?

Of course you are.

Any time is a good time for pudding.  Especially breakfast.

In a small saucepan, add 2 tablespoons of honey, 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder, 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch, and 3/4 a cup of almond milk.  If you don’t have almond milk, you can use water, though I can’t guarantee it’ll taste as great.  Or, use real milk.  Use whatever you wish.  This is just what I had on hand.

Over low heat, stir until the cocoa is integrated into the liquid, and the mix is a homogeneous chocolate color.  Yes, chocolate color.  Chocolate has a color, and “brown” does not do it justice.  So, it’s chocolate colored.

Bananas only make things better.

Don’t come running to me, though, when you have wax stuck in your teeth from gnawing on a “burnt sepia” crayon, though.  That’s not my fault.  “Burnt sepia” is NOT chocolate colored.

Bring your heat up to medium, and stir.  Stir constantly.  Stir until your arm wants to fall off, and be sure to scrape the bottom of the pan regularly.  You don’t want  your pudding to lump.  Lumps in your pudding are never a good thing.

Lump is an icky word.  You want to know what’s worse?  Clot.  Ew.  Cornstarch clots.  Ugh.  Did I make you lose your appetite?  Please don’t.  This pudding will bring it back, I swear it.

Still.  Stir constantly or you’ll get cornstarch…clots. (I shuddered.  Sorry.  Forgive me.)

Peanut butter just makes it better, though.

There, does that help?

Back to the pudding.  Stir until the pudding is thick and when you run your spoon along the bottom, you can see the bottom of the pan.  Your spoon will also leave drag-marks in the pudding, and if you picked it up and plopped (another gross word!  sheesh, Kaz, what’s up with you today?) some pudding back into the pan, it’d hold its shape for a few seconds.

Once your pudding is thick and creamy, slowly slowly slowly add in your 1/4 cup egg whites.  You want to stir like you’ve never stirred before.  If not, your egg whites will curdle. (That makes four today?  Clot, curdle, lump, plop.)  If you do it right, though, your egg whites will thicken up the pudding amazingly and you’ll kick yourself for having not thought of it yourself.

Add your 1/2 tsp vanilla at this point, stir, and remove it from the heat.  See, told you.  Easy.  Look at your clock.  Took you less than five minutes, didn’t it?  I told you.

Pour into your bowl, and if you want it to cool, stick it in the freezer while you slice up a whole banana.  Layer your pudding with your banana, and add a generous dollop of peanut butter.

Money shot!

And, if that isn’t enough, add some crunchy peanut buttery cereal.  Yes.

I bought some Peanut Butter Pandas exactly for that reason.  I paid under three bucks for a box of them at the grocery store, and they’re amazing for those sweet/savory peanut buttery cravings.  Plus, if you eat them one at a time, you can enjoy them longer.  I particularly enjoy them because they’re organic, and before you sniff at me and call me a snob, I’m not.  But, I rather dislike Monsanto (that’s a post in and of itself), so buying organic corn is my way of stickin’ it to the man.

Hey, we all have our quirks.  That’s mine.

And peanut butter.  Mmm, peanut butter.

You know how some people add Nilla wafers to add crunch and interest to their pudding?  That’s what the Peanut Butter Panda Puffs (yay for alliteration!) provide for this.  And besides, this is breakfast.  What’s breakfast without breakfast cereal?

Exactly.

Wow. Just...wow.

Ready for a recap?  Of course you are.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding

2 tbs honey

2 tbs cocoa powder

1.5 tbs cornstarch

3/4 cup almond milk

1/4 cup egg whites

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Toppings: one ripe, whole banana; 1-2 tbs peanut butter; 1/4 cup peanut butter cereal

Add first four ingredients into your sauce pan and stir over low heat.  Increase heat to medium, keep stirring until thick.  Slowly add in egg white, stir like mad to avoid lumping.  When thick, add 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and remove from heat.

Add toppings as you wish, and dive in head first.

Enjoy!

So rich and creamy, I almost couldn't finish it all!

Thanks for reading!  I have an amazing guest recipe coming up for lunch, courtesy of my wonderful genius sister.

That is, if I don’t totally botch it up.

Knowing me, I will.  Gotta keep on truckin’.

❤ Kaz

*Yes, I know I called it custard before.  I’m loopy like that.

