I’ll give you a hint: my post has nothing to do with any of them.

It’s the color of my face right now.

You see, I failed today.  I failed at lunch.

The concept was great.  The execution…not so much.

Fail 1: My Veggie Mess (there is no better way to describe it)

Fail 2: My poor Nikon battery!

The idea behind what will now be infamously known as My Veggie Mess was a great one.  I love peas, I love cauliflower, I love onion, and I really love refried beans.  I thought it would be a great idea to roast the cauliflower and onion then combine all four in a single bowl.  I knew the veggies would taste great together, but I had envisioned the beans gently coating them in a mild but tasty sauce.

Oh, it coated them in a sauce all right.

I don’t know if the onions and peas were too sweet, or maybe there wasn’t enough bean to coat them properly, but the taste was barely edible.

Looks pretty tasty doesn't it? Yeah, not so much.

I ate it, though.  I was famished.

You put a steaming bowl of my favorite things together and I’m going to eat it.  That’s just fact.

I remember once, when I was seven or eight, my church group did something similar to that.  All I remember going into that bowl was Kraft mac n’ cheese and Hershey’s syrup, but most of my peers were emptying their guts into the nearby bushes for the rest of the evening.  Even now, almost twenty years later (I’m old!) I still haven’t forgotten that taste.  Just typing it is filling up the back of my throat with the acrid memory.

Yuck.

See the steam rising up? This picture is so misleading.

This was, thank God for small blessings, a thousand times better.  Which isn’t saying much, since it was barely tolerable.

As for my other fail, I killed my camera’s battery.  Oh, no, strike that.  I didn’t kill it, I exhausted it.  Suddenly, in the midst of taking these pictures, the viewfinder went white and the words “Battery Exhausted” flashed in red across the screen, and it refused to work anymore after that.

It’s on the charger now, but the guilt remains.  Battery exhausted.  I feel like I’ve been abusing it, working the poor thing down to the bare bones.  I’m also somewhat mortified that I’m pretty sure it’s me, in the past few days, whom is the culprit that wore out the poor battery.  Yikes.

I ate it anyway. The pictures made me do it!

For every fail, though, there is a win.

Win 1: These pictures did turn out darn skippy, didn’t they?  I think so.  Gack in a bowl or not, they look delicious.  Hey, you eat with your eyes first, dontcha know? (Sorry, I just came back from a weekend in Minnesota.  Yes, they really do talk like that.  They’re also some of the nicest people I’ve ever encountered.  Loved it there!)

Win 2: The sweet potato.

Yes, the sweet potato.  Pre-cooked in the microwave, but set to roast for fifteen minutes at 400 F, the natural sugars spilled out all over the pan and the potato was moist and sweet.

Now THAT tasted as good as it looks!

I usually have to add a touch of honey to my sweet ‘taters, but this needed none.  And, the almond butter was unsweetened.

Oh, about the almond butter.  I use MaraNatha brand, and like most of my “expensive” items, I buy it at Costco.  I think the huge 28 oz jar cost me just over five dollars, which is a complete snipe.  It has a mild, nutty flavor — well, it tastes like almonds.  In fact, that’s the only ingredient in it.  It’s fantastic, and while it does require a bit of a stir when you open it, it’s delicious and goes with just about anything, savory or sweet.

Back to the sweet potato.  Want another peek?  Sure you do.

This is love.

I decorated it with a sprinkle of cinnamon, as well.  Can’t go wrong with cinnamon on a sweet potato, that’s for sure.

All in all, a well-rounded, filling lunch.  Believe it or not, I’m still feeling a bit peckish, so I’ll probably grab a light snack in a few minutes.  Unfortunately, there will be no pictures, since my poor battery is exhausted (being a camera is a thankless job) and charging.

Hey, how do you keep a battery from charging?…you take away its credit card! Ba-dum-tish!

Don’t worry, I’ll let you know what I snack on later.

Oooh, and I just got a wicked idea on what to make for dinner.  This is gonna be exciting!  It may be another epic fail, but who knows?  It might work.

I’ll give you a small hint: it utilizes the few scraps of food remaining in my pantry/fridge.

Oh, and the awesome fella told me he’s taking me grocery shopping soon, so that’s something to look forward to.  Can’t wait to share my haul with you!

Mmm, almost makes up for my ganky Veggie Mess.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

Update:

My stomach was literally growling just two hours after eating this.  I swear, I’m a bottomless pit.

I grabbed a D’Anjou, and my thumb sunk 1/8 inch into the flesh.  That, my friends, is how to tell if your pear is perfectly ripe and juicy.

Mmm, pears.

