And another day is done!

My lunch, while absolutely the most delicious stew ever, was grossly lacking in the protein department.  That said, despite this, my stomach didn’t communicate any sort of problems with hunger to me until three hours later, at which time it went on a rampage and inhaled the following snacks:

Fresh, cold, juicy. Yum.

Yeah, don’t you hate it when there’s a memo circulating and everyone’s talking about it but you never got it and therefore you’re the last to know and entirely blindsided?  That’s how I was by my hunger today.

Those grapes?  Barely made a dent.

This bad boy soon followed:

'Memba him from earlier with his good friend Peanut Butter Jar?

But, he looked mighty nekkid, and I didn’t think a half a paltry banana would make a suitable dent in my hunger, so I introduced him to a new friend.

You philandering banana! What, peanut butter not good enough for you?

That friend was a batch of homemade sunbutter that I whipped up about a month ago.  In the mix, I included a generous dollop of honey and several heaping spoonfuls of coconut butter.  However, since my tastebuds have changed, it’s actually too sweet for me now.  Unheard of.

However, I was craving sweet tonight, and that snack held me over until the real sweets made an appearance.

Okay, I have a confession.

I’m almost out of food.

Say what?  Yeah.  I’m down to a serving of Brussels sprouts, a hunk of cauliflower, and a small serving of spinach.  Since I only like spinach in smoothies, and I wanted to save my sprouts and cauli for tomorrow’s lunch, I had to declare defeat and make do with that I had.

I’m also almost out of protein.  I’m out of whole eggs, I’m down to a few spoonfuls of tinned beans, and friends?  It’s just ugly.

However, I did have some core staples hanging around and realized that tonight would be the perfect night for a dessert for dinner!

Enter: The Sweet Potato Pear Frittata!

You see, I wanted to make a soufflé, but all I had were pasteurized egg whites.  While the protein content is the same as regular egg whites, they don’t whip like egg whites do.

However, the gears were a-turnin’, and the large, ripe D’Anjou was calling my name.  (What is it with me and pears?  For real, yo.)

I quickly sliced a medium sweet potato down the middle and placed it on a dish of water.  That went into the microwave for approximately five minutes.

While it cooked, I preheated the broiler.

I thinly sliced half a pear (the other half promptly went into my mouth) and layered it on the bottom of a lightly oiled oven-safe skillet.  I added a sprinkle of cinnamon for taste.

Hideous lighting. Forgive me.

Once the potato was ready, I peeled the skin off (and promptly ate that, too) and mashed it good and proper.  I added it in a bowl with 1/2 cup egg whites, a dash of nutmeg and cloves, and 1/4 tsp cinnamon.  Blackstrap molasses sounded like a good addition, so I added a generous 3/4 tsp to the egg white mixture.

It got a little bit burnt. Oops.

I placed my skillet on the stove and heated up my pears for a few moments while I stirred my egg mixture.  The batter was a bit runny, so I added 1 tbs. brown rice flour to thicken it up.

It did the job nicely, don’t you think?

Burnt or no, it still tasted amazing.

I poured my egg mixture atop my sliced pears and cooked over medium heat for approximately five minutes, until the sides were cooked but the top and middle was still wobbly.

From there, I placed it in my preheated oven.

I broiled it for 7-8 minutes, until the top was set, then inverted it onto a plate.

The glaze MADE this dish!

However, while it looked mighty tasty, it was severely lacking in the fat department.  That’s when I decided that it needed frosting.  Hey, I already broke all the rules by making a dessert frittata; what harm could glazing it do?

None.  None at all.

Oh. Em. Gee.

I made a quick frosting out of 1.5 tbs almond butter, 2 heaping tsp. honey, and 1 tbs of almond milk.  I nuked it for ten seconds, stirred, and nuked it for five more.

Oh wow.  Oh, wow oh wow.

Sweet, but not too sweet.  Smooth, not grainy.  And the frittata?  Soft, light, moist.  The only added sweetness came from the honey in the glaze and the tiny bit of blackstrap added to the egg base.

It felt so decadent, yet it was my dinner.

I ate it all up.  Not a bite was spared.

Mmm, see the texture? I licked my plate clean.

Bonus, it was quick and a snap to make.

Ready for the recipe?

Sweet Potato Pear Frittata:

1/2 medium sweet potato

1/2 cup egg whites

1 tbs brown rice flour

1/2 pear, sliced

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Dash cloves, nutmeg

3/4 tsp blackstrap molasses

Frosting:

1.5 tbs almond butter

2 tsp honey

1 tbs almond milk

Got it?  Good.

Make this tonight.  Or tomorrow, for breakfast.  Yes, do that.  You won’t regret it.  And come back and tell me how you liked it, okay?  I need affirmations like that.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kaz

Update:

Got hungry/snacky.

Ate dates stuffed with peanut butter.

Looks disgusting, right? Looks can be deceiving.

I don’t know how to describe this other than, OMG.  The dates are like buttery caramels, and we all know what peanut butter tastes like.

It’s beyond words.

It’s like a caramel sugar envelope of peanut butter.

Try it.  Amazing.  So daggum good.

