Good morning!

Today, I’m going to show you guys the proper way to enjoy a squash.

First, the improper ways.

Get your mind out of the gutter.

Bad squash: too much brown sugar and marshmallow.  Squished into an amorphous paste and offered to a child (or a stubborn grown up).  Sliced and offered plain.

There, we got the bad out of the way.  Now, what’s the right way to eat a (butternut, in this case) squash?

Here’s a fine example:

I gave the jar a second chance.

Yes, I said I wasn’t very impressed with “in a jar” concoctions.

However, you put an idea in my head, and I’m a stubborn old gal.  I’m not going to give up until I know for sure if it’s my fancy or not.

This time, not too shabby.  I had tons more peanut butter on this one, and the butternut squash was melty-yummy-good.

Looks ugly, but so very yum!

It didn’t hurt, either, that I drowned it in a ton more peanut butter and some Peanut Butter Panda Puffs.

I made a simple custard out of my squash with a half a cup of applesauce, a half a roasted squash, tons of cinnamon and vanilla, and one whole egg and enough almond milk to make it thick and creamy.

I poured it into my jar, topped it with peanut butter and peanut butter pandas, and died of happiness.

Another way to enjoy butternut squash?

Filling but not heavy. Perfect!

This would be another batch of butternut squash custard, but made without the applesauce (I was worried it would clash with the bananas).  I added a metric-ton of cinnamon and vanilla, then topped it with banana slices, two heaping tablespoons of peanut butter (2 tbs peanut butter, 2 tbs almond milk, nuke and stir) and Panda Puffs.

When I ate it yesterday, it kept me full for three and a half hours.  Not too shabby!

So, here’s hoping for another day of happy tummy-age.

Sorry for the awful lighting -- 7 am does not make for pretty pictures.

And, I thought you guys should know that my little fuzzy-butt Osito is one year old today.

On October 4, 2009, Amor and I adopted him, and I seriously doubt he was older than a month when we caved in to his plaintive squeaks and let him into our lives.  Hence, today is his tentative birthday.

I should also let you know that he decided to celebrate this venerated day by knocking over his water dish, then promptly began stalking his reflection and pouncing into the huge puddle he created.

Also, I should let you know that heck, it’s 7 a.m.  I’m not cleaning it.  I put a towel down.  For this early in the morning, I deserve a medal for doing that much.

And know you know.

Do you like squash?  What’s your favorite autumn dish to prepare?

Thanks for reading!

<3 Kaz

